Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

ot: drumming

comacoda

I have horrible rhythem. Really bad! I'd like to work on it on a different instrument. I'm halfway interested in a cheap electronic drum kit... I'm curious if this will be good/bad for my wrists since they are being a bit flakey.
Live long and prosper unless it is a good day to die.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply
It most likely would be good for your wrists IF and that's a BIG IF..you make sure you are holding the sticks the proper way! If you don't it can cause permanent damage to you and can put you in CarpoTunnel problems. Ok and what do you mean your wrists are FLAKEY...do you have some kind of medical problems with them now? If you do you should run this by a physician first.

Well, I'm not a doctor and I don't play one on TV, but here are my 2 cents. Drumming, like any action involving repetitive motion and pounding, can cause or worsen carpal tunnel syndrome (but this is relatively rare). Also, many electronic kits, since they have hard rubber pads rather than pliant plastic or animal skin heads, transfer a lot of shock waves to the hand when they are struck.

However, if you have an acoustic kit and a good drum teacher who can teach you the proper way to hold the sticks and strike the drum using your fingers rather than your wrist and forearm to snap the stick, the negative effects can be mitigated.

Lastly, if you take up the drums (which I highly recommend), please remember to not only protect your wrists, but your hearing as well - ALWAYS WEAR EAR PLUGS OR SOME OTHER TYPE OF HEARING PROTECTION.

If you want to play drums.. that's cool.. play drums.

If you're doing it just to get better rhythm, I think that's a bit too extreme. It's much cheaper to jam to records (er... CDs) and buy a metronome. Heck, you don't even have to buy one.

Here: http://www.metronomeonline.com/

And remember this... drummers aren't really musicians. :-)