Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Queensryche...

DC Ross

Okay, so when Rage for Order came out in 1986, I was instantly hooked. I was a sophomore in HS and I listened to it pretty much non-stop. I'd been playing guitar for a few years at the time, and they instantly became a major influence. The dueling guitars really did it for me.

Listening to them again, they evoke a similar emotion as Pink Floyd (to me). I got The Wall as a present for my 7th B-day, I listened to that constantly when I got it, too.

I haven't listened to them in years, and I heard one of their songs on the radio from Operation: Mindcrime yesterday, and it made me remember why I liked them "back in the day" ;)

They weren't hair metal, or prog rock, or speed metal, but they were certainly unique.

I'm sure it's considered "uncool" to listen to them, but dammit, I can't help it :)

On a related note, a few years ago, I saw Geoff Tate (the singer) at the grocery store with his wife/girlfriend. I wanted to say something, but didn't want to bug the guy. He's a short guy, but he's got a helluva voice.

Any other Queensryche fans out there?

It's not simple to be simple.

-H. Matisse

Ross Precision Guitars

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Operation Mindcrime is one of my favorite albums. It's certainly in the top 5.

I never really got into any of their other stuff but I love this album.

I do like the song "Silent Lucidity" because my grandmother died about the time this song came out so I think of her when I hear it.

Back to Operation Mindcrime: some great guitar playing between two guitar players. What's really great about these guys is that they both played different rhythm patterns instead of both chugging the same progression until "solo time".

I like the cynicism of the lyrics in the album to.

It's good stuff.