Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Alright... dumb question

Murakawa

I've been doing a lot of recording lately, with my acoustic Tanglewood guitar.

For some reason, however, after recording, my left hand is absolutely KILLING me - especially after playing a lot of bar chords.

I've been playing the guitar for about 10 years now and this has never really happened before. Towards the end of the song I barely have any grip which makes things terribly frustrating.

Can anyone suggest something? Would changing the string gauge make any difference? Or raising the bridge slightly?

Many thanks

Murakawa

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Just a guess: If you are in practice and you play regularly: You are freaking yourself out about the recording... the process means a lot to you and you are tense, so you are gripping too hard, and paying the price after the fact.

Record more. Try to relax. Think about it, and realise when you are gripping too hard, and make yourself stop. Get more comfortable with the process, and you should not have the pain anymore.

The other option is that you are just not used to playing that much, and you are sore from using muscles that you don't normally use so much.

Bill

"I believe that entertainment can aspire to be art, and can become art, but if you set out to make art you're an idiot."

Steve Martin

Show business: we're all here because we're not all there.

Not a dumb question at all. Are you finding yourself playing for a lot longer during recording sessions than you typically do when practicing? That could do it, especially with a lot of barre chords.

As far as guitar set-up, impossible to know without looking at the guitar. What gauge strings do you use? Has the guitar ever been set up by a professional? You might take it to a good repair person, sit down with it, and talk about all this. The repair person might have some suggestions.

Originally posted by Bluesape: