Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Bass to Guitar wattage ratio?

pollock

Is there any specific wattage ratio for balancing out guitar and bass or just do what works?

For example should the bass amp be 2x the size of the guitar amp?

Lets say:

65 watt guitar amp > around 100 for bass?

100 watt guitar amp > around 200-250 for bass?

2 120 watt guitar amps > 350 - 400 for bass?

Also, if a large enough bass amp is not available could a smaller one be mic'd and pushed up with PA volume?

Final question - i promise - if both a guitar amp and bass amp are mic'd, whats the best way to make sure the bass is heard?

Thanks in advance, guitar is my thing, I'm new to this stuff.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yeah... but wattage doesn't really mean very much in practical terms.

You can get small valve amps that completely drown out larger SS amps and then there's all the speaker stuff as well... Oh, the pickups too. And so on and so forth...

I think you just have to go for what works. |In my experience, there's no Pythagoras' Theorem type rule that really holds water. Mostly.

Originally posted by Bluesape:

Bass doesn't need to be mic'ed in a small room.

Well, it doesn't hurt to have it in the mix if you keep the channel it's on eq'ed bright. That way you can get some definition for the bass' sound envelope, but use the amp's sound to fill out the low end.

Originally posted by Bluesape:

Roughly triple the wattage as required for guitar as bass notes are much thirstier in terms of wattage versus volume. :idea:

yeah, and to keep it clean if you make it loud, you need a lot of headroom, and wattage may not have a lot to do with percieved loudness, but it is a pretty good way to gauge how much headroom you have.

Always remember that you�re unique. Just like everyone else.