Music Player Network
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Hi,

I have bought a couple of apps today to use with the built in audio interface of my YC61 but I'm getting a crackling noise? The apps that I'm trying are the Ravenscroft 275, GSI VB3m and IK iGrand. I've tried these on both my iPad mini4 and my iPhone 7 but have the same crackling noise!
I'm brand new to using apps via a keyboard so am not sure if there are certain settings I need to do? Any suggestions as to why I'm getting the crackling noise?

Keyboard Corner Island
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 35
J
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
J
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 35
Try to increase the audio buffer size.... look for a balance between latency and cpu usage. Also make sure the audio is not clipping on the YC61

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Thanks. I've tried adjusting the buffer size and tried the apps at various volume levels but this doesn't fix the crackling!?

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,997
Likes: 196
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,997
Likes: 196
Have you adjusted the input volume on the YC61 itself?

You have to go into the MENU and under General go to I/O Volume and adjust there.


David
Gig Rig: MODX 8| Yamaha YC61 | Arturia MiniLab | Arturia V-Collection 8

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Thanks I wasn’t aware of this.

Bizarrely I tried Ravenscroft this morning and it worked perfectly for over 1/2 half then it started getting crackles? I seem to be getting the crackling at different random times? Sometimes it’s works great for a while and then other times it crackles early on!? It is worse with VB3m despite this using noticeably less cpu?

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Are there any general settings I need to change on my iPad/iPhone?

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 15,823
Likes: 243
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 15,823
Likes: 243
Originally Posted by dickiefunk
Sometimes it’s works great for a while and then other times it crackles early on!?
Was the charger plugged in? If not, it's possible that performance may degrade as the battery level drops...?


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Ah no the charger wasn’t plugged in! I will try this out

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Ok I tried both my iPad Mini 4 and iPhone 7 fully charged with the charger plugged in and am still getting crackling when trying to play VB3m and the Ravenscroft 275 through the built in audio interface of my YC61.
Should I be changing any other settings on my iPad? I’m pretty new to using my iOS devices as sound modules.

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 15,823
Likes: 243
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 15,823
Likes: 243
For Ravenscroft, go to the gear settings icon in the top left, audio/MIDI preferences, and increase the audio buffer size. I would guess that VB3m may a similar setting somewhere. Also, for testing, make sure you're loading only one MIDI app at a time. Make sure they work well by themselves before trying to run them in tandem.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
1 member likes this: b3maniac
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Thanks Scott. I’m using the 512 buffer size in the Ravenscroft and only have that loaded. In VB3m there doesn’t appear to be any options for changing the buffer size.

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 15,823
Likes: 243
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 15,823
Likes: 243
Originally Posted by dickiefunk
Thanks Scott. I’m using the 512 buffer size in the Ravenscroft and only have that loaded. In VB3m there doesn’t appear to be any options for changing the buffer size.
512 should be plenty, I would hope you could get 256.

Yeah, I saw on the VB3m product description that it is supposed to automatically select the best setting for itself. Nice idea, but it might have been nice to be able to override that, even just for troubleshooting purposes. But then, I've always been skeptical of things like that, and that's just me.

My next idea would be to see what happens if you don't use the YC61 interface. Any chance you have another way to connect, like a 5-pin DIN MIDI connection into your iPad?


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Likes: 9
HSS Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Likes: 9
What version of IOS are you running?

Our 2nd generation Ipad Pro is running 14.4 and our Iphone 6s is running 11.4 and both run Ravenscroft flawlessly with a buffer of 512.

We have an older Ipad from 2012 with IOS version 9.3.5 and Ravenscroft makes periodic crackling noises on it no matter what I do with the buffer, polyphony, sustain, etc.

Last edited by HSS; 04/06/21 03:55 AM.

Gigs: Nord 5D 73, Kurzwel SP4-7, Hammond SK1, Numa Compact 2x, Yamaha MX88, Casio CGP700, QSC K12, Yamaha DBR10, JBL515xt(2)

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Both my iPhone 7 and iPad Mini 4 are running iOS 14.4.

Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Likes: 1
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Likes: 1
Always turn on the aeroplane mode and turn off WI-FI while playing. Cracles are almost certain if Your device devides to check mail etc. and it’s not cool if You get a call in the middle of solo😁.
The VB3m has no background audio yet, so You can’t really use the stand-alone with some other app. The only real option to run several music apps at the same time is to run them as AUv3 in a host like AUM.

Last edited by SHonka; 04/08/21 02:36 AM.

PX5S+XW-P1, SK1, Solton MS-100, MoXF8, Ketron X4
Samson Graphite49, Behringer iStudio202, iPad3, iPad mini2, Galileo, Korg Module, forScore
RCF 310A, Roland CM-30, Yamaha 01V, Radial ProAV2
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Likes: 1
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Mar 2017
Posts: 4
Likes: 1
I have Ravenscroft and VB3m running smoothly in AUM with 256frames buffer at 55-65%CPU in iPhone7 iOS 14.4.2👍

Attached Images
Last edited by SHonka; 04/08/21 02:55 AM.

PX5S+XW-P1, SK1, Solton MS-100, MoXF8, Ketron X4
Samson Graphite49, Behringer iStudio202, iPad3, iPad mini2, Galileo, Korg Module, forScore
RCF 310A, Roland CM-30, Yamaha 01V, Radial ProAV2
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 308
Likes: 22
B
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
B
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 308
Likes: 22
I also have IK iGrand and had no crackling.

You may wish to change leads and try another adaptor


Col
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
Originally Posted by Biggles
I also have IK iGrand and had no crackling.

You may wish to change leads and try another adaptor

Ok I'll try this.

Would the be any advantage to running Ravenscroft 275 and VB3m through something like AUM?

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
D
Senior Member
OP Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 78
Likes: 5
I've just seen this really great demo of the YC61 by Sorin Zlat and towards the end (13:12) he demonstrates the built in audio interface with the iOS Ravenscroft 275 app on his iPhone. He is just using the Apple USB3 adapter and a USB cable and it works perfectly.



Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5