Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Building a new recording computer #3014719 11/02/19 09:50 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
I might be up and running in a week or three with a new DAW (Digital Audio Workstation). I bought a new laptop the other day and I am going to start using my Dell desktop as a DAW. I am still all set up in my shed for DAW work, all I need to do is configure Windows 10 for DAW work. I want to keep it off of the internet, so I can shut off Windows Defender, and keep Windows from downloading updates. I have to figure a way to do that. I also want to get rid of Cortana and Windows Edge somehow. Once I am off of the web with that computer I can disable those two. (Google is my friend) I read of a way to do that, so once I have the laptop up and running, I can delete most of the stuff off of the desktop, and have at it. The desktop is an Intel I-5 with plenty of RAM with a solid state hard drive and I have a few external drives one of which is also Solid State. So it should work well.

Does anyone know of a way to force delete windows folders like Cortana and Edge? I have read of ways to disable them by changing the folder addresses, but bagging them up and trashing them would be even better.


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
GP Island
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3014736 11/03/19 03:55 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
Larryz Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
@ DBM, no idea on how to delete Windows Edge and Cortana folders...maybe you can ask Cortana LOL! But seriously, good luck and hope the DAWS set up is successful! cool


Take care, Larryz
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: Larryz] #3014737 11/03/19 04:04 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
Originally Posted by Larryz
@ DBM, no idea on how to delete Windows Edge and Cortana folders...maybe you can ask Cortana LOL! But seriously, good luck and hope the DAWS set up is successful! cool

Thanks amigo. I used to do this stuff in a single day but nowadays I need naps between sessions. cheers


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3014756 11/03/19 02:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
Larryz Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
thu


Take care, Larryz
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3014818 11/04/19 01:32 AM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 392
D
Delta Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 392
I'm in the process of doing same. For Christmas my wife will buy me a new laptop with a Thunderbolt mother board which I need to have to work with the Presonus software and hardware that I've already purchased.


"Let me stand next to your fire!", Jimi Hendrix
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3014888 11/04/19 04:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 338
J
jimmac Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
J
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 338
Naps are good. Good luck with the software fix. I quit keeping up with that stuff about 20 years ago as I have about 100 IT techs to do that kind of stuff on my work systems and I currently don't have a computer at home. Maybe I will have to catch up after I retire this coming summer. Jim

Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: Delta] #3014891 11/04/19 04:30 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
Originally Posted by Delta
I'm in the process of doing same. For Christmas my wife will buy me a new laptop with a Thunderbolt mother board which I need to have to work with the Presonus software and hardware that I've already purchased.
Have fun with it amigo.


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015058 11/05/19 08:08 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,961
W
Winston Psmith Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
W
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,961
@DBM - My respect, brother! I'd long ago backed away from using my computer as my recording rig, watching buddies try to keep up with each and every software, firmware and accompanying hardware upgrade. I knew I couldn't afford it, so I went with a Roland HDR, added a small auxiliary box a few years back, and make do with what I have.


"Monsters are real, and Ghosts are real too. They live inside us, and sometimes, they win." Stephen King

http://www.novparolo.com
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015063 11/05/19 08:44 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 220
KuruPrionz Online Content
Senior Member
Online Content
Senior Member
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 220
Slow and steady wins this race.
I am still organizing and streamlining my entire system but there is significant progress on a weekly basis.
Some things take time, I've organized my plugins on my DAW and that saves a lot of time. Now it is easier to evaluate different plugins according to type (Delay, Reverb, etc.) Evaluation will take time and then more plugins can probably go away forever.

Start simple, easier to solve problems with fewer variables.

I don't do Windows so no help there, sorry. I've had great luck with doing a search for my question and adding the word "forum". Often this brings up forums where the problem is discussed and somebody who knows how to solve it will chime in. If you get stuck, give it a try!

Cheers,
Kuru


There is never enough time to be in a hurry...
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015077 11/05/19 10:02 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,531
J. Dead Offline
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
Offline
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,531
Just because something hasn't been uninstalled doesn't mean it will slow down the system, what matters if it is still running in the background or not, and how much CPU and/or disk it is using. To see what's running and how much it is taxing the system, use the Task Manager. Hit Ctl-Alt-Del, select "task manager", allow access, then click the arrow that says "More Details" or something like that. It will show a whole big huge long list of apps, background processes, and windows processes, along with how much CPU usage and disk usage.

Incidentally you can kill it by selecting and clicking "end process" but doing it that way can potentially make the system unstable, and when you restart the computer, they'll likely just start back up again. Usually uninstalling should get rid of them. Most stuff you can uninstall by simply going into the control panel and add/remove programs. Beyond that, do a little googling on how to remove things from your startup through the system registry. This will prevent things from automatically launching on startup, but will not remove them. That way they are still available to you if you need them but don't run in the background. That's where a lot of software or for instance a printer driver will put stuff to automatically look for updates. Since you won't be connected to the internet, it wouldn't be able to find them anyway, so no sense in having it running in the background.


Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: J. Dead] #3015089 11/06/19 01:32 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
Originally Posted by J. Dead
Since you won't be connected to the internet, it wouldn't be able to find them anyway, so no sense in having it running in the background.


Thanks amigo. Good info.


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: Winston Psmith] #3015091 11/06/19 01:42 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
Originally Posted by Winston Psmith
@DBM - My respect, brother! I'd long ago backed away from using my computer as my recording rig, watching buddies try to keep up with each and every software, firmware and accompanying hardware upgrade. I knew I couldn't afford it, so I went with a Roland HDR, added a small auxiliary box a few years back, and make do with what I have.


Thanks bro. I do not mind the set up issues it will take me a day to do that. I am using old software, and am spending zero bucks. just trying to get some ideas on for new recording projects. I have just about got the new laptop up and running, perhaps tomorrow. Once that is done I will do some major uninstalling on this computer (the desktop destined for DAW work). I have been doing digital recording via computer since the late 90's, so I am well versed in how to use that old software to the fullest.

I started out on analog gear, I once had an Otari 16 track 30 ips machine and an Otari Half Track 30 ips machine with a TAC Scorpion 24x16 Console. I ran them with a Macintosh plus computer and locked the whole schlemiel together with SMPTE time code. So I was in on the whole digital recording process from day 1, using MIDI only sequencers, editing programs for the Synths and samplers, and a host of MIDI capable outboard gear.

My Windows DAW with a small amount of software out does that analog stuff by far for ease of recording, and ease of editing and mixing. A project that would take me days on the analog gear, I can get done in an afternoon with a computer based DAW.


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: Winston Psmith] #3015092 11/06/19 01:43 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
sorry double post


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: KuruPrionz] #3015094 11/06/19 01:45 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
Originally Posted by KuruPrionz
Slow and steady wins this race.
I am still organizing and streamlining my entire system but there is significant progress on a weekly basis.
Some things take time, I've organized my plugins on my DAW and that saves a lot of time. Now it is easier to evaluate different plugins according to type (Delay, Reverb, etc.) Evaluation will take time and then more plugins can probably go away forever.

Start simple, easier to solve problems with fewer variables.

I don't do Windows so no help there, sorry. I've had great luck with doing a search for my question and adding the word "forum". Often this brings up forums where the problem is discussed and somebody who knows how to solve it will chime in. If you get stuck, give it a try!


I have had a Mac system as well. Thanks for the reply amigo.


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015100 11/06/19 02:28 AM
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
D
Dolemite Offline
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by desertbluesman
I might be up and running in a week or three with a new DAW (Digital Audio Workstation). I bought a new laptop the other day and I am going to start using my Dell desktop as a DAW. I am still all set up in my shed for DAW work, all I need to do is configure Windows 10 for DAW work. I want to keep it off of the internet, so I can shut off Windows Defender, and keep Windows from downloading updates. I have to figure a way to do that. I also want to get rid of Cortana and Windows Edge somehow. paris shuttle airports Once I am off of the web with that computer I can disable those two. (Google is my friend) I read of a way to do that, so once I have the laptop up and running, I can delete most of the stuff off of the desktop, and have at it. The desktop is an Intel I-5 with plenty of RAM with a solid state hard drive and I have a few external drives one of which is also Solid State. So it should work well.

Does anyone know of a way to force delete windows folders like Cortana and Edge? I have read of ways to disable them by changing the folder addresses, but bagging them up and trashing them would be even better.

i have no idea about that.

Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015105 11/06/19 03:59 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
Larryz Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
WELCOME ABOARD DOLEMITE! thu


Take care, Larryz
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015142 11/06/19 07:01 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
Welcome Dolemite,


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015280 11/08/19 04:26 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
Larryz Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
@ DBM, I'm going to be ordering Band In A Box 2019 for my computer. I've got 930 Gigs on my D drive with nothing on it so I can load BIAB and keep it separate. The "boxed" version of BIAB for Windows software comes on a Flash Drive in 64 bit and will provide me with a back up if my computer should ever crash on me. I have 8 Gigs of Ram so my computer should handle the basic version easily...just something to play around with in my spare time so I can make a few custom backing tracks and maybe write something...

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/de...and-in-a-box-2019-pro-for-windows-boxed?

cool

Last edited by Larryz; 11/08/19 04:32 AM.

Take care, Larryz
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: Larryz] #3015357 11/09/19 12:01 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
Originally Posted by Larryz
@ DBM, I'm going to be ordering Band In A Box 2019 for my computer.


I might update my band in a box for the Win 10 DAW to be built very soon.

I do have the old versions of BIAB as well as Jammer professional on an XP laptop that still runs, once I am out there fixing the studio up a bit, I will experiment with how well it works. I will have to load on a set of samples and synths that come with my Sonar Versions that will get the laptop up an running for MIDI file creation.


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015383 11/09/19 04:01 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
Larryz Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 12,369
I sent in my order for the 2019 BIAB today...looking forward to playing around with it and having a little fun! I can always add to the basic version down the road... thu

ps. there are lots of quick start tutorials on YouTube and I found a couple that should get me up and running... cool

Last edited by Larryz; 11/09/19 04:07 AM. Reason: ps.

Take care, Larryz
Re: Building a new recording computer [Re: desertbluesman] #3015429 11/09/19 07:19 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
desertbluesman Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,240
I started using my laptop today in the house the Dell Desktop is out in the shed waiting to be set up for DAW work. (Now that is going to be tricky)


dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick

Moderated by  Bluesape, myles_rose 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3