Music Player Network
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 13 of 13 1 2 11 12 13
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3019022 12/10/19 01:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,011
Likes: 31
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,011
Likes: 31


Live: Casio PX-560, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k, Yamaha S90ES
KC Island
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3019143 12/11/19 10:12 AM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
J
JFP Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
J
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Why oh why does it sound soooo bad. It’s one of the only reasons I didn’t order one yet. All the standard bread and butter sounds are so terribly old and JV1080 “quality” . Really. Synth engine and filters are great, interface is great and some controller features are great, but I keep on being flabbergasted by the lack of any good quality basic sounds , like EP, Organ, Brass, Guitar, Strings you name it. Terrible. They should have just left them out altogether , leaving just the synth sounds and leave the acoustic section to your plug-ins in mainstage . And half the price of course. Can;t stand anymore recycling...

Re: New Roland Fantom
JFP #3019152 12/11/19 12:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
A
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
A
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
Originally Posted by JFP
Why oh why does it sound soooo bad. It’s one of the only reasons I didn’t order one yet. All the standard bread and butter sounds are so terribly old and JV1080 “quality” . Really. Synth engine and filters are great, interface is great and some controller features are great, but I keep on being flabbergasted by the lack of any good quality basic sounds , like EP, Organ, Brass, Guitar, Strings you name it. Terrible. They should have just left them out altogether , leaving just the synth sounds and leave the acoustic section to your plug-ins in mainstage . And half the price of course. Can;t stand anymore recycling...


I think many people ( myself included) are waiting for the supernatural sounds to be included hopefully early next year. The synth section is very appealing to me as well but if someone wants that alone, then perhaps the Jupiter X would suffice? I plan to hopefully play both the Fantom and Jupiter X next year when the X is released and make my decision.


Kurzweil Forte 7, Mojo 61, Kurzweil PC361,
Kronos X61, Jupiter X, RD-88
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3024819 01/21/20 05:59 AM
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 31
L
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
L
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 31
Apparently SuperNatural strings and brass are in the beta 1.5 OS, along with other fairly significant bits and bobs. I’m still not quite there - even a list of changes in the OS update ( due by the end of the month) would probably push me over the line.

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3024839 01/21/20 01:31 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
A
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
A
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
Well, I took the plunge and bought a Fantom 7 during a great Sam Ash Music trade in / + 10% off sale. They have a generous 45 day love it or return policy so I am going to get to know this board over the next month or so and see if it is a keeper for me. If not, I will probably return it and go with the Jupiter X since I played the Jupiter Xm and really liked it (just not the mini keys and limited keyboard)


Kurzweil Forte 7, Mojo 61, Kurzweil PC361,
Kronos X61, Jupiter X, RD-88
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3024841 01/21/20 03:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,315
Likes: 33
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,315
Likes: 33
I had Jupiter Xm, returned it and bought a Fantom 6. Having had that a couple weeks, I'm feeling like it's a keeper. I'm not able to tell you exactly what the Jupiter can do that the Fantom can't, but I know the synth engines are aligned to a high degree. The Fantom has the great touchscreen, the Jupiter more dedicated surface controls. For me the deciding factor was I want this keyboard to be at least minimally capable of serving as a stand alone gig rig. I was hoping the Jupiter could go there, but I decided it's too far a stretch for the Joop.

For my purposes what's most lacking in the current Fantom is a clonewheel engine. However, someone who isn't as organ-focused as me could probably tweak the organs that are in their now and be satisfied. EPs could be improved but they're decent as is. I believe there's more sound engines coming. OS 1.50 is further proof that Roland is serious and committed.

in the mean time I'm enjoying the VA synth and the brilliant interface and workflow. I'm not a workstation guy. That someone like me is digging the Fantom says a lot about it as a live instrument.



Gigging: Crumar Mojo 61, Subsequent 37, Roland VR09, Yamaha P121
Traveling: Yamaha MX49, Reface CP and CS
Home: Vintage Vibe 64
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3024867 01/21/20 05:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,037
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,037
I used my Fantom 7 live for the first time this past weekend. I'd also downloaded and installed the beta version of 1.5, due at the end of this month. That update made a big difference with moving forward to try the Fantom live. So some positive feelings, from the gig this past Friday. Unfortunately, the onstage mix was crap' though I'll leave that boulder mostly unturned for now. It is worthy of a separate thread, though I may have either started a similar one or jumped aboard one circa 2009... Maybe the new one'll be titled, " My Onstage Mix Still Sucks; in 2020?!" laugh

Anyhow, the Fantom 7 so far:

Pros:
Insanely intuitive interface (with serious touchscreen real estate). Plenty of onboard programming resources, at all levels.
World-class sounds (a treasure trove of Roland history, with SN now happening as well.). Clarity and presence for miles.
Above average synth action
Built like a tank

Cons:
Still no TW organ (not even hinted at in Ver 1.5?!). The left front panel looks eerily like an RD-2000 (which came from the factory with a solid working TW engine.).
Support system is now largely anecdotal (though improving a little), especially since Roland canned it's primary Fantom rep.. Best resources are a collection of us scattered about on FB, MPN, Roland Forums...
Not initially supported well for live players; still playing catch-up. Design and support was weighted toward its' DAW-like capabilities...Useful to have in a single instrument for some, but there's already a plethora of software and even hardware options.

Neutral: Sound clarity, from the mix; even the quality DA converters in the Fantom can't perform miracles. The Fantom sounded great on stage when I could hear it clearly, which was a toss-up. Sounds like a love child between a JP-80 / FA07, and something else.. I'm anal about personal monitoring, so too much outside interference it seems. Heck, even my Nord - which I've tweaked a lot, and normally carries through well - sounded like it was in a snow storm half the time. Hopefully some issues will be ironed out before next week's gig.

More to come...


"Someday, we will look back on these days and laugh. It may be a maniacal laugh from within the confines of our padded cells, but it will be a laugh nonetheless" - Mr. Boffo.







Re: New Roland Fantom
allan_evett #3024881 01/21/20 07:13 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
A
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
A
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 506
allan_evett,

Why not go IEMs ? Ever since I switched to IEMs I have an awesome mix (in stereo) and just the way I want it. (we use Beringer P-16Ms) It sounds so good it inspires me to play my best even if the gig is sucking for some reason


Kurzweil Forte 7, Mojo 61, Kurzweil PC361,
Kronos X61, Jupiter X, RD-88
Re: New Roland Fantom
aellison62 #3024989 01/22/20 02:40 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,037
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,037
Originally Posted by aellison62
allan_evett,
;
Why not go IEMs ? Ever since I switched to IEMs I have an awesome mix (in stereo) and just the way I want it. (we use Beringer P-16Ms) It sounds so good it inspires me to play my best even if the gig is sucking for some reason


Thanks! Among other things, I'm looking at returning to IEMs.


"Someday, we will look back on these days and laugh. It may be a maniacal laugh from within the confines of our padded cells, but it will be a laugh nonetheless" - Mr. Boffo.







Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3028447 02/11/20 05:51 AM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,217
Likes: 20
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,217
Likes: 20
Looks like 1.5 has been released.

New Features (from a look through the update manual):
  • Vocoder
  • Search by text string
  • Supernatural Tones added, with lots of editing possibilities - Categories: Ensemble Strings, Vox/Choir, Plucked/Stroke, E.Bass, Solo Strings, Solo Brass, Sax, Flute, and Wind
  • Import/Export Tones (new?)
  • New Pad Mode Functions: Pattern and Variation play
  • New Piano Roll functions: Selecting multiple notes, Drag note to copy, and E1-E6 knobs now control functions like Undo/Redo, Copy, etc.
  • Effect Edit Screen Shortcuts
  • V-Piano Editing: "In the zone edit of a zone for which a V-Piano tone is select, you can now edit Coarse Tune, Fine Tune, and Octave Shift settings."
  • AIRA Link support
  • LCD Brightness adjustment
  • Noise Suppressor Threshold and Release (Audio In)
  • Remote Keyboard Switch



Courtesy of PianoManChuck:


Update procedure:



Looking better. Let's add a good organ and a good sequencer.






Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Kurzweil: PC3
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465/WCOC Reed Organ/Allen ADC-220/Accordions
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3046559 05/30/20 03:27 PM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 82
Likes: 4
P
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
P
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 82
Likes: 4
I have a bit of a big problem with Fantom at present as the centrepiece of a live rig.....

Any Zone set to "external2 does just that - controls an external bit of gear over a midi channel. Great.

Now comes the problem. If you want to split or layer the keybed across multiple bits of external gear, you may well need to change the pitch of that gear right? so you want a synth lead line played in the top octave of the board, and another bass line in the bottom octave, and a couple of Fantom pads and brass stuff in the middle. Not uncommon at all.

Well - Roland in their wisdom have made the hit and miss. To do a change, you have to set up a course (semittone) and/or fine (cent) pitch setting in the zone. OK no problem so far. However its not real time for starters. You have to save that Scene and the info is sent to the external unit when you then select that scene.

Bit of a pain, but OK. then it gets worse. The pitch info is sent over NRP 05 for semitones and 06 for cent. There is no standard for NRPs. Peak for instance only takes octave shifts over NRPs... on 06. It needs a 61-67 range (64 being 0 and the others being +/- 3 octaves, The Fantom sends fine info in a different range. Peak handles semitone pitch info as CCs - one for each Osc, not NRPs.....

I cant find any info at all on my Virus and how it responds to NRPs.

On the other hand an Integra, being Roland, is mapped correctly and works fine.

Why they didnt use the RD2000s system, where pitch offsets are the same BUT theres a keyboard tab - where you put in the range forr the zone, and apityc offset (in semitones) that is applied to the note data from the key press then the adjusted note ifo is sent over Midi. Works in real time and regardless of the external gears Midi implementation.

The Fantom has an "offset" page already, that has filter cutoff, resonance, attack, decay and sustain (same as the FA series). Unless there is a function I cant find it the manual, they really need to add a pitch offset here or you just cant be sure if it will work with your external sound sources or not....


Roland RD2000, FA07 (soon to be Fantom7), Legend EXP, Peak, Virus Ti2 Desktop.
Page 13 of 13 1 2 11 12 13

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4