Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 24 of 24 1 2 22 23 24
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: To B3] #3020696 12/24/19 01:41 AM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
E
echo66 Online Content
Senior Member
Online Content
Senior Member
E
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
I think it's a very nice instrument for the price. If it only ran on batteries.... :-(

KC Island
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: echo66] #3020772 12/24/19 06:39 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
U
uhoh7 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
U
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
Originally Posted by echo66
I think it's a very nice instrument for the price. If it only ran on batteries.... :-(


Battery for 2CX

Runs for hours on this battery which is about the size and weight of a 3.5" Hard Drive. If you get a plug adapter and go into normal power in rather than USB, speakers work normally.

Last edited by uhoh7; 12/24/19 06:42 PM.

RT-3/U-121/Leslie 21H and 760
SL-880/Nektar T4/Numa Cx2/Deepmind12
Stylophone R8, Behringer RD-8, Proteus 1
MPC1000, Unitor 8
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: BadDog1123] #3020777 12/24/19 06:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
U
uhoh7 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
U
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
Originally Posted by BadDog1123
Does anyone know if you can send MIDI CC from the drawbars through the MIDI Out (DIN) connection, or is it only transmitted through the USB MIDI Out? I've asked this question on the Studiologic support site, but I never got a respone.


Yes, for sure. I do it via DIN not USB. (Real men don't midi USB)
The trouble is, no off switch!!!!
Touch those sliders on any sound if the zone is active and it moves the MIDI.
Work around:
use both zones for destination, one with sliders programed and one without. turn on the "with" when you want to move synth sliders.

Potential as controller is extremely high, but the MIDI programing is not as advertised, but unfinished. VERY unfinished. I don't think there are hardware limitations, but they are so lazy with the software, which would be fine if they let us in to get some third party tools going. For about 5k worth of programing they could sell many many more of these. A shame.

Because I can't change any assignments on the 2CX, I now have to learn other complex and expensive solutions which can do this on the fly. Is it really so much to ask that I can assign cc's and toggle on/off?

Too many Italian dinner parties I think.

But some MIDI issues are in a partially advanced state: your cc programing is unique to preset and zone.

Originally Posted by MIDI Rack-Man
YES, I am using my SL NC 2x to send MIDI drawbar information to a GEMINI MIDI rack (B-3 sound preset) using the old-fashioned 5-pin MIDI cables. It is kinda a labor of love to set up - BUT ONLY ONCE! You have to tell the drawbars to be drawbars instead of VOLUME CONTROLS - so the "top" of the drawbar sends MIDI = 0 instead of a MIDI = 127. I had to take extra meds the first time I set it up, but now, Preset #54 is customized for any Gemini Organ preset, and I can use the drawbars LIVE & GLITCH-FREE. A cute picture of the drawbar positions briefly shows up on the tiny OLED screen on the SL NC 2x while you move them around. It is a great joy.

Sadly, I don't believe the PERCUSSION or VIBRATO controls on the SL NC 2x send MIDI information to switch PERC or VIBR/CHORUS on the Gemini, but I have not tried to do that. Can anybody please tell me I am wrong ??

The MODULATION STICK on the NC 2x does send ROTOR FAST / SLOW by MIDI to the Gemini, but I find this less than useful. ?? has anybody figured out a way to send MIDI from a pedal attached to the NC 2x to actuate ROTOR FAST / SLOW ?

Best,

MIDI RACK-MAN


I love the "meds" comment. I feel you.
Supposedly midi signals are sent from perc and vibrato, but I have not verified this. Stick is mapped as mod wheel, but probably gemini rotary is not.

From SL Nov 16:
"the NC2x has 2 separate MIDI Ports, one related to the internal Upper and Lower sections (not programable) and one related to the MIDI ZONE A and B, programmable.

So far, at least on this INFO mailbox, we did not get complains on this implementation, besides what you mentioned here.

We never intended to write misleading informatipns, however let me check your comments with my Lab and I will revert accordingly.

The NUMA Organ MIDI implementation has nothing to do with the NC2x, as the Organ was never intended to be a kind of MIDI Controller, even if it has some basic MIDI Implementation made for that specific model and normal use.

Please also note that in the latest Firmware we also added a MIDI Single/Multi Channel function as well as a general Local Off, to make cleaner the connections with some Daw, including our Camelot Pro.

Please give me some day for a more detailes analysis and answer.

Thanks again and best regards !"

Not enough people are complaining directly.....get on it people!!!!

Here is the magic device which would take the place of many meds, they should include one untill they finish the 2CX:




Last edited by uhoh7; 12/24/19 07:14 PM.

RT-3/U-121/Leslie 21H and 760
SL-880/Nektar T4/Numa Cx2/Deepmind12
Stylophone R8, Behringer RD-8, Proteus 1
MPC1000, Unitor 8
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: uhoh7] #3020782 12/24/19 07:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 26
M
MIDI Rack-Man Offline
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 26

As I put in my above note, the STICK sending Modulation DOES INDEED make the Gemini Organ Rotor cycle from fast to slow and back. But, like the MOD wheel on my TS-10, location on the left far side of the keyboard (and NOT on a pedal on the floor; or a quick click switch button in the MIDDLE of the board - like M-Audio Code 61 has) it is NOT a good location - and too much motion required for my taste on the stick OR the mod wheel to toggle from fast to slow and back.

The reason for the extra meds is you have to look up the MIDI CC control number for EACH DRAWBAR in the Gemini; then program EACH SL NC 2x drawbar to send the Reverse drawbar MIDI values. All of this work goes into a single program location (in my case, program # 54), which now will send the drawbar MIDI commands to the Gemini. It is very reliable.

I dread to think what will happen if the SL NC 2x loses its marbles and I have to program it all over again.

MIDI Rack-Man


Brad Kaufman
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: uhoh7] #3020792 12/24/19 09:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
E
echo66 Online Content
Senior Member
Online Content
Senior Member
E
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 75
Originally Posted by uhoh7
Originally Posted by echo66
I think it's a very nice instrument for the price. If it only ran on batteries.... :-(


Battery for 2CX

Runs for hours on this battery which is about the size and weight of a 3.5" Hard Drive. If you get a plug adapter and go into normal power in rather than USB, speakers work normally.

That's pretty cool.

Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: MIDI Rack-Man] #3023396 01/13/20 01:03 PM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
B
BadDog1123 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks for the info, but I still can't get the drawbars to send MIDI thru the DIN MIDI Out connection. Pedals and sticks send just fine, but the drawbars send nothing. Is there a setting or parameter on on NC2X that I am missing?

Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: BadDog1123] #3023442 01/13/20 07:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,334
AnotherScott Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,334
Originally Posted by uhoh7
I begged Gianni to allow us full programing of all sliders buttons and knobs as either cc or nrpn in an email today.

Gianni: "I do not exclude future updates to make all buttons programmable, but I can also not promise, here and now (sorry :-)."

I'm impressed you could reach someone with a feature request and get an answer! Did you reach them just through the Technical Support inquiry form on their web site?

Originally Posted by tommym
We're waiting eagerly for the next software (firmware) update, which promises an improved DRIVE effect

Is an improved drive effect confirmed as an enhancement that is coming? Where did they say this?

Originally Posted by MIDI Rack-Man
Sadly, I don't believe the PERCUSSION or VIBRATO controls on the SL NC 2x send MIDI information to switch PERC or VIBR/CHORUS on the Gemini, but I have not tried to do that. Can anybody please tell me I am wrong ??

Those buttons do send MIDI CC, I don't see any reason you couldn't remap them on the Gemini side to do what you want.

Originally Posted by uhoh7
Because I can't change any assignments on the 2CX, I now have to learn other complex and expensive solutions which can do this on the fly. Is it really so much to ask that I can assign cc's and toggle on/off?

Too many Italian dinner parties I think.

Hmmm... I'm not aware of ANY keyboards with dedicated function controls that allow you to change the CC that those controls send, much less an "entry level" model. No clonewheel where you can change what CC the percussion/CV controls send, no synths where you can change the CCs the filter/envelope controls send, etc. The way you make use of them to control other things is to remap them on the receiving side (which generally works fine for VSTs or IOS sound sources, but not for other hardware modules/keyboards).

Originally Posted by uhoh7
From SL Nov 16:
...
"So far, at least on this INFO mailbox, we did not get complains on this implementation, besides what you mentioned here."
...
Not enough people are complaining directly.....get on it people!!!!

I guess that's a partial answer to the earlier question... I'm guessing info@studiologic-music.com? Or is it something else? They don't seem to publicize it (as far as I've seen), which would seem to make it hard for them to know how common it is that people are bugged by something... Where did you find it? Maybe I just looked in the wrong places...

Originally Posted by MIDI Rack-Man
The reason for the extra meds is you have to look up the MIDI CC control number for EACH DRAWBAR in the Gemini; then program EACH SL NC 2x drawbar to send the Reverse drawbar MIDI values.

How else would you expect it to work? Nine drawbars, nine controls to remap (either on the sending side or on the receiving side), no matter which drawbar controller you have driving any drawbarless clonewheel sound source, right?

Originally Posted by BadDog1123
Thanks for the info, but I still can't get the drawbars to send MIDI thru the DIN MIDI Out connection. Pedals and sticks send just fine, but the drawbars send nothing. Is there a setting or parameter on on NC2X that I am missing?

Are you saying that the drawbars DO send MIDI out USB, and the only problem is through the DIN connection?


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: AnotherScott] #3023452 01/13/20 07:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
B
BadDog1123 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
Haven't tried sending the drawbar MIDI through USB. Even if it works with USB, I need to send MIDI out through DIN to a MIDI Solutions merger.

Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: BadDog1123] #3023454 01/13/20 08:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,334
AnotherScott Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,334
Originally Posted by BadDog1123
Haven't tried sending the drawbar MIDI through USB. Even if it works with USB, I need to send MIDI out through DIN to a MIDI Solutions merger.

The reason I asked is, if it doesn't work through either MIDI or USB, I'd suspect you're doing something wrong.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: BadDog1123] #3023540 01/14/20 12:55 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
U
uhoh7 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
U
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
Originally Posted by BadDog1123
Thanks for the info, but I still can't get the drawbars to send MIDI thru the DIN MIDI Out connection. Pedals and sticks send just fine, but the drawbars send nothing. Is there a setting or parameter on on NC2X that I am missing?


It will be no problem. Be sure you are in Zone edit (16 pages or so, MIDI options for channel etc), not Part Edit (11 pages)


Pick a zone, you have two. Tell it what channel, then moving down you will start to see Midi CC options. Move sliders to change which one. Then you can scroll through all the ccs and pick what you want to send.

On a general note:
There are no globals for sliders, but it does save this info per zone, per preset. Sliders also programed per zone, so you have in effect 2. What's the problem? Sliders will always send midi no matter if you are tweaking your organ part, unless you turn the whole zone off. So I make one zone with sliders and one without to work with a single target synth like DM12.

We need a "mode" where the sliders express the active zone/part, whatever it is, but nothing else. or at least that should be a mode. That simple fix would be huge.


@Another Scott

infoATstudiologic-music.com

I'm working on a wish list, but assignable destinations for knobs would be nice. My new/old sequencer MPC1k supposedly can redirect on the fly, as can maybe my unitor 8. You can run Sound Diver on a Mac again now with wine to get into the unitors which are cheap. There are some new MIDI routers too which might be able to line two "dumb machines" which have ccs fixed. The point is: the controller should be friendly and flexible with other hardware.

Last edited by uhoh7; 01/14/20 02:46 PM.

RT-3/U-121/Leslie 21H and 760
SL-880/Nektar T4/Numa Cx2/Deepmind12
Stylophone R8, Behringer RD-8, Proteus 1
MPC1000, Unitor 8
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: uhoh7] #3023553 01/14/20 02:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
B
BadDog1123 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
Thank you, uhoh7!! I will try out your suggestion and report back. I only use one preset because I am using the NC2X as a MIDI controller, not using the internal sounds.

Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: To B3] #3024686 01/20/20 04:39 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 655
H
HSS Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
H
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 655
Based on photos, it appears that the Numa Compact 2x doesn't have a left/ mono output, which is standard on most boards. Additionally, unless I missed it, there's no mention of summing to mono in the manual. I'm therefore assuming the Compact 2X doesn't sum to mono, which can be useful for AP's, effects, etc.

Is my assumption correct that the Numa Compact 2X doesn't sum to mono?

FWIW I had a Numa stage piano a few years ago and it was the same . I used the right output for mono on gigs, which works, but is not preferable for me. And please, don't take this thread down the worn-out road of stereo vs. mono. I'm a mono guy for gigs as well as an old lazy curmudgeon who wants to keep it as simple and light as possible.


Live gear: Kurzweil SP6, Nord 5D 73, Hammond SK1 61, Kurzweil SP4-7, Yamaha MX88, Casio CGP700, QSC K12, Yamaha DBR10, JBL EON515xt(2)

Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: HSS] #3024777 01/20/20 10:48 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
U
uhoh7 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
U
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
I think you are correct, and it's another basic feature which would be useful to players, and well might be possible with current hardware and firmware upgrade.

You probably already know how to make one, but:
Here is nice stereo to mono method


RT-3/U-121/Leslie 21H and 760
SL-880/Nektar T4/Numa Cx2/Deepmind12
Stylophone R8, Behringer RD-8, Proteus 1
MPC1000, Unitor 8
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: uhoh7] #3024838 01/21/20 01:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
B
BadDog1123 Offline
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 15
Big shout out to uhoh7 for the spot-on instruction for setting up drawbars to send CCs over the 5-pin DIN MIDI out connection!! Works like a champ!! I had never explored that particular area of MIDI settings on the NC2X. I continue to be impressed by what this board can do.

Last edited by BadDog1123; 01/21/20 01:14 PM.
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: uhoh7] #3024997 01/22/20 03:21 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,334
AnotherScott Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,334
Originally Posted by uhoh7
There are no globals for sliders, but it does save this info per zone, per preset. Sliders also programed per zone, so you have in effect 2. What's the problem? Sliders will always send midi no matter if you are tweaking your organ part, unless you turn the whole zone off. So I make one zone with sliders and one without to work with a single target synth like DM12.

We need a "mode" where the sliders express the active zone/part, whatever it is, but nothing else. or at least that should be a mode. That simple fix would be huge.

Hmmm... I'm not sure I understand. Can you give an example scenario that illustrates the problem?


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: Studiologic Numa Compact 2x [Re: AnotherScott] #3025548 01/24/20 05:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
U
uhoh7 Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
U
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 125
Originally Posted by AnotherScott
Originally Posted by uhoh7
There are no globals for sliders, but it does save this info per zone, per preset. Sliders also programed per zone, so you have in effect 2. What's the problem? Sliders will always send midi no matter if you are tweaking your organ part, unless you turn the whole zone off. So I make one zone with sliders and one without to work with a single target synth like DM12.

We need a "mode" where the sliders express the active zone/part, whatever it is, but nothing else. or at least that should be a mode. That simple fix would be huge.

Hmmm... I'm not sure I understand. Can you give an example scenario that illustrates the problem?


I sincerely apreciate the interest smile

The problem is combining Numa Sounds on local parts with exteranl sounds on MIDI zones. If the MIDI zone is "turned on" it will send all CC info programed regardless of the OS focus. We want it to send note and perhaps other info, wheels etc, without focus. But we don't want the sliders to effect instruments which are not selected: this is the defalut beahvior with local sounds. The Sliders effect one sound or the other, not both, at a single time, depending on the part selected.

But ZONES will have either Sliders on or off, regardless of zone selection, or part selection. If you want the sliders to "work" on an external MIDI device, you turn on the zone and get the right channel etc. They still don't do anything, untill you program them, regardless of if the ZONE is on/off. Once you do program the sliders, if the ZONE is active, regardles of what zone or part is selected the sliders send that MIDI info. If you turn them off you loose all programing.

If I select zone one, I want the sliders to effect that zone. If I then select my organ, I want them to effect the organ, not the organ AND the zone.

The workaround is to have duplicate Zones one with sliders on one without. You only turn on the "slider ZONE" when you want to use the sliders on synth X--let's say it's a pad I wnat under my local pianos. When I have the pad right via sliders, I must turn that ZONE off, and turn on another X synth ZONE that has the sliders un-programed. Only then can I turn back to my local parts and use the sliders while Synth X is playing without screwing it up.

Also, I may have mentioned it, but there is no way to assign any other knobs to perform tasks over MIDI, unless I am missing something. You can "turn the sliders on" at least or leave them off. There is no way to turn the knobs...any of them....."on". That I have found. And I have looked.

Ironically the local knob destinations can be accessed from an external MIDI device on the "other two" local parts. It's a four part keyboard, but 2 parts can't be played locally. Except I guess if you plug MIDI DIN out to IN, as noted above.

The board is potentially very powerful as a MIDI controller. But it's hamstrung by current programing. I think all hardware needed is onboard.

Last edited by uhoh7; 01/24/20 05:46 PM.

RT-3/U-121/Leslie 21H and 760
SL-880/Nektar T4/Numa Cx2/Deepmind12
Stylophone R8, Behringer RD-8, Proteus 1
MPC1000, Unitor 8
Page 24 of 24 1 2 22 23 24

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3