Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 1 1
Topic Options
#1662043 - 03/12/04 12:12 PM Is this eBay auction a scam? (relevant next 2 hours)
mound
Gold Member


Registered: 01/12/04
Posts: 607
Loc: Rochester, NY

Offline
This isn't directly project studio related, only in so far as I was perusing G4 powerbooks for a project studio and I came across this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2793786435&category=14909#ebayphotohosting

This guy isn't actually selling the G4 powerbook, he's selling information on how to get the powerbook for $100... seems odd.. seems like a scam.. Has anybody seen this type of auction before?

-Paul
_________________________
"You look hopefully for an idea and then you're humble when you find it and you wish your skills were better. To have even a half-baked touch of creativity is an honor."
-- Ernie Stires, composer

Top
#1662044 - 03/12/04 02:49 PM Re: Is this eBay auction a scam? (relevant next 2 hours)
aroneous54
Senior Member


Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 58
Loc: Northampton, MA area

Offline
its a scam. i once talked to one of those people who have those auctions on email and I investigated it. Don't do it!
_________________________
UberProAudio.com

Top
#1662045 - 03/12/04 06:40 PM Re: Is this eBay auction a scam? (relevant next 2 hours)
Super 8
MP Hall of Fame Member


Registered: 10/16/01
Posts: 8150
Loc: Loves Park, IL

Offline
So what's the big secret that supposedly gets you a Powerbook for $100.

I've seen these before for other products. I always assumed to was a scam, but I'm curious of what the secret is.
_________________________
Super 8

Hear my stuff here
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
-- George Bernard Shaw

Top
#1662046 - 03/12/04 10:01 PM Re: Is this eBay auction a scam? (relevant next 2 hours)
Philip O'Keefe
10k Club


Registered: 12/17/00
Posts: 17674
Loc: Riverside,CA,UNITED STATES

Offline
Hey Super 8, did you notice you're about to hit the big 5K? Congrats my man!

Yeah, it sure sounds like a scam to me... the idiots probably tell you to go talk to a fence or something in order to get your Mac for $100. Bad joss no matter how you look at it. Beware!
_________________________
Phil O'Keefe
Sound Sanctuary Recording
Riverside CA
http://www.ssrstudio.com
http://www.philokeefe.com
pokeefe777@ssrstudio.com
My New Forum on Harmony-Central

Top
#1662047 - 03/12/04 11:15 PM Re: Is this eBay auction a scam? (relevant next 2 hours)
Matt.Hepworth
MP Hall of Fame Member


Registered: 03/13/01
Posts: 2972
Loc: Riverdale, UT

Offline
Seller now shows up as "not a registered user".
_________________________
No matter how good something is, there will always be someone blasting away on a forum somewhere about how much they hate it.

Top
#1662048 - 03/12/04 11:24 PM Re: Is this eBay auction a scam? (relevant next 2 hours)
Super 8
MP Hall of Fame Member


Registered: 10/16/01
Posts: 8150
Loc: Loves Park, IL

Offline
Quote:
Originally posted by Philip O'Keefe:
Hey Super 8, did you notice you're about to hit the big 5K? Congrats my man!

Thanks Phil....I hadn't noticed till you said that.

Now I'm off to the SSS for a healthy dose of self-aggrandizement.
_________________________
Super 8

Hear my stuff here
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man."
-- George Bernard Shaw

Top
#1662049 - 03/13/04 02:14 AM Re: Is this eBay auction a scam? (relevant next 2 hours)
aroneous54
Senior Member


Registered: 02/01/04
Posts: 58
Loc: Northampton, MA area

Offline
here's how it works. i couldn't believe how silly the scam is. The guy gives you an internet address when you win. The address is for a site in which you join a list of people, in which you all pay like $400. Once the people's $400 (all the people's money gets pooled together) adds up to enough to buy a mac, the person on the top of the list gets that mac. Then as more people join, the second person on the list gets the mac, etc.... Its really silly.
_________________________
UberProAudio.com

Top
Page 1 of 1 1


Hop to:
Support Your Forums