Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Can you talk while you play?

jimw

I played a gig Saturday night, nice crowd, good sound... And, during one of the few songs I don't play on a portion of, I realize there's someone standing next to me on stage (I didn't build my usual barricade of cases. :D )

So, I get the usual questions, "What songs do you guys play?", "Do you know anything by ____?" etc., and as usual I can only hear every third word of the conversation. At about that time I realize I need to play a piano part, string part, and sing a harmony. So I just point her to my song list/cheat sheet.

But even after I started playing it took her a while to leave. How do you handle this situation? I hate to be rude, since we can use all the following we can get. Do people really think we can carry on a conversation while playing?

OK, I feel better now... Thanks!

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by jimw:

I played a gig Saturday night, nice crowd, good sound... And, during one of the few songs I don't play on a portion of, I realize there's someone standing next to me on stage (I didn't build my usual barricade of cases. :D )

So, I get the usual questions, "What songs do you guys play?", "Do you know anything by ____?" etc., and as usual I can only hear every third word of the conversation. At about that time I realize I need to play a piano part, string part, and sing a harmony. So I just point her to my song list/cheat sheet.

But even after I started playing it took her a while to leave. How do you handle this situation? I hate to be rude, since we can use all the following we can get. Do people really think we can carry on a conversation while playing?

OK, I feel better now... Thanks!

Yup. You did the right thing. :thu:

She didn't realize (or didn't care) that she was interrupting your act.