Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

finally caught that rare bird ..

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Congrats. I've got a rev 3.3, wouldn't trade it for the world (original owner and all that). But that warm Rev 2 sound, mmm...

Daf

I played in an 8 piece horn band. We would often get bored. So...three words:

"Tower of Polka." - Calumet

Lots of Rev 3 is digital - rev 2 is much less so. I'm far from an expert, though. I'm sure Mr. Cluster (Please, Mr. Cluster? :D ) would be glad to expand/expound, since he knows why he was looking for one.

Daf

I played in an 8 piece horn band. We would often get bored. So...three words:

"Tower of Polka." - Calumet

Ooooh, sweet. Does it play in tune? Hang onto that puppy.

I think the sound difference has to do with the components used. The sweeter SSM chips were replaced by more stable CEMs. This made pitch and filter drift less likely, but doesn't sound as warm. (Apparently  I've never heard either.) You hear a similar story going from the Oberheim OB-8 to the OB-Xa.

Originally posted by synthetic:

Ooooh, sweet. Does it play in tune? Hang onto that puppy.

I think the sound difference has to do with the components used. The sweeter SSM chips were replaced by more stable CEMs.

Correctimundo. The SSM chips have a noticeably warmer sound. The main issue with Curtis chips is not that they are more stable though. SSMs are fine after the normal 10 minute warmup period.

The Curtis advantage was that they were far less susceptible to static damage. SSMs are fragile and can be easily destroyed by careless handling, or power supply spikes/surges.

Moe

---

i tried a rev2 a zillion yrs ago, so must admit i was more driven by listening to recordings with it (Japan, Sylvian/Barbieri, some Tangerine Dream of that era), demos and user testimonials. otoh, i spent substantial ammount of time playing/programming a friend's Rev3.