Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#434028 - 11/25/03 08:02 PM To Upgrade or Not To Upgrade?
KnightShow Offline

Loc: Hollywood,CA ,UNITED STATES
Many people on these forums are looking for ways they can upgrade their systems... either by using new software or new hardware. I pose a question to everyone out there... is it worth upgrading if everything already suits your needs? For example, I've been using the same computer system for nearly 3 years now. It took me six months to work out the kinks and make it run smoothly. I use software and hardware from 3 years ago, but everything works great. I can record several tracks at a time, and haven't had crashes in ages. Why would I need to upgrade? Why are people so eager to upgrade? I know that there is a lot of nice, shiny equipment out there to play with, but is it worth the time and trouble to always be upgrading? I know there are those like me, that won't upgrade until something starts smoking or dies, never to be heard from again... but what about those that are always looking to upgrade?

#434029 - 11/27/03 08:02 AM Re: To Upgrade or Not To Upgrade?
Alndln Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: ,NY,UNITED STATES
Quote:
Originally posted by KnightShow:
is it worth upgrading if everything already suits your needs?