Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Which 61-key MIDI controller

The Akai MPK series is quite old, out since 2014, if I'm not mistaken. I don't think it'd be wise to buy one now, as they're probably going to be succeeded by something new...

I am not really concerned about the age of the instrument, as long as it is well built.

I am rather interested in the keypad quality (I would use it for live gigs) and key dimensions. Unfortunately, the nearest shops don't have the AKAI and the Arturia available, so I have to rely on reviews and other user advices.

The AKAI MPK261 is sold as full-sized keys, but I have read that its keys aren't really full-size. Arturia keylab Mk2 are bigger?

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Right, decided, (almost)...

I really think the Novation SL MK3 and Ableton will be more than I can chew, being a complete novice.

So, I've turned my attention to Native Instruments, not the S-series, but rather the A-series. Good quality and everything I need, really. Will be adding a Maschine Mikro MK3.

Like their software offerings, but there's still a small chance I might go for the 'all in one' Keylab MK2 (I like the Arturia 'ecosystem' as well).

And since I'll be using a separate 88 key board, there's no need for a 61 key controller so I'll be going for a 49 key one instead, and it'll even leave me some extra free space on my desk.

For the 88 key, think I'll go back to the MX88, one that has been on my rader for a while. Solid decent keybed, and very good quality overall, and good fun, even when using without a computer, shoudl the need arise.

My MP11SE is being picked up by someone next Wednesday so i'll be ordering the new stuff pretty quickly. Happy times ;)

A long time ago, in a musical galaxy far, far away...

Eminent-Solina B412, Yamaha DX21, Yamaha V50, Yamaha U1

21st century...