Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Does any one use GIMP?

My recent try at removing the shadows from the road sign in another thread, and not having the PS tool used in Elements, got me wondering... ... ...

I keep reading that GIMP is about as powerful as the subscription model of Photoshop, but a bit more difficult to learn.

Since I haven't learned Photoshop and am just starting to learn Elements, I wonder if I might be better off downloading GIMP and going there.

I'll probably never want a Photoshop subscription because this is just a hobby with me. I make my living doing two other things (1) performing music live (2) writing aftermarket products for Band-in-a-Box. Since I make my own backing tracks for performing live, both of these are very, very time-consuming.

So if anyone has used GIMP I might have a few more questions to ask.

Thanks,

Notes

Bob "Notes" Norton

Owner, Norton Music http://www.nortonmusic.com

Style and Fake disks for Band-in-a-Box

The Sophisticats http://www.s-cats.com >^. .^< >^. .^<

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

It's extremely powerful and capable. And certainly, the price is right. I used it some years ago, and it was powerful back then. It's multi-faceted and powerful at any price, but for free? It's nuts.

I don't like the way it goes about doing things. Some of this might have to do with Photoshop, and some of it has to do with my personal preferences. I just felt like it was harder to implement things. The last straw for me was how it handled text, which I really hated.

For free or reasonably inexpensive software many people like Elements, like you mentioned, Darktable (I know nothing about this), Luminar 4 or Luminar AI, or Affinity. I use Luminar 4 and AI routinely as part of my workflow and love their stuff, using it as a plug-in with Photoshop. However, they operate as stand-alone software as well.