Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

EBow - anybody use one?

I'm de-cluttering and found the box for my EBow. It has the lessons cassette. I want to transfer that to digital so I can listen to it and try to learn some new tricks.

I usually have it close by, on the studio desk. It can provide lots of options with any steel string guitar including acoustic guitars. I'm not very good at it, never practice it - lazy.

I've also used it with my Fishman Triple Play to get new synth sounds (for me anyway).

I'm not sure I'd ever be good enough at it to use it live. I like simple live, one less thing to think about.

Decades ago I saw it demonstrated at the EBow booth at NAMM in Anaheim and the player was amazing, he'd been practicing and it showed.

Do you have one? Have you used one? Anything to add, I wanna learn more!!!!! Cheers, Kuru

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I think I bought my first EBow at NAMM, probably 40-ish years ago. It was the chrome silver model, no switch. I'm on my second one, black plastic with the power switch. The newer ones are much upgraded & get the string going faster & more controllably. It's been a pretty constant part of my live thing all along, although I'm doing pretty weird highly processed electronic music with the guitar, which often doesn't sound remotely like a guitar.
Scott Fraser

although I'm doing pretty weird highly processed electronic music with the guitar, which often doesn't sound remotely like a guitar.

This is exactly what I love about it! It's another set of instruments. Last year I posted this on Metapop, just for fun: https://metapop.com/opossum-apocalypse/tracks/that-itch/130532