Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

MainStage set up idea

Hi everybody,

I would like to submit an idea I came up with to organize Concerts/Sets/Patches in Mainstage. I don"t know if it makes sense and since I am not a pro Mainstage user, I would like to receive comments from advanced users.

I play 2 MIDI Master Keyboards, an 88 keys (Studiologic Numa Compact 2X) and a 61 keys (Arturia Keylab 61 MkII). They both are connected to a MacBook Pro via USB. Output is managed by a Focusrite 2i4 audio interface.

First I"d like to explain how I am currently using Mainstage:

Since a couple of years, I use the same set up for Mainstage because I literally had no time to delve into this application (and I am not sure I am using it at best).

That"s the set up: say I have to perform 10 songs in a gig, I create a Concert file, set up the two keyboards with knobs, faders and other controls in the Layout area, then I create 10 patches in the Edit area, one for each song to be played. Each patch has one or more virtual instruments that will be played during that song (usually 2 but sometimes up to 5, some of them layered), as channel strips assigned to one or both master keyboards.

So, if, for example, in 5 of the 10 songs, I play Grand Piano, I have to create 5 Grand Piano virtual instruments channel strips in the corresponding patches.

Now that gigs are not allowed due to covid, I have a lot of time to study Mainstage, and one of the first thing I stumbled on, was an article listing all the CPU-saving settings for Mainstage. One of them was the usage of the so-called 'aliases', that is a virtual instrument is replicated n times in a concert not as n instances but as 1 instance and n-1 links.

That was an amazing discovery!

So, I got to this idea for a new setup (and sorry for the long post, but I had to explain where I was coming fromâ¦).

The Concert file should be organized as follows: