Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fun with Logic/Mainstage scripts

A while ago, in a thread dedicated to alternative controllers, we discussed with Tusker the idea of writing a script able to retrigger notes (and envelopes) just with a controller like Touché (or a breath controller) for those virtual instruments that where not able to do it;

I finally convinced my software developer brain to work with my musician brain and after sometime dedicated to revise JavaScript, i wrote a first version of it, and we are beta testing it with Tusker; you will find it as a .txt file attached to this message.

Before giving some explanation about the script, a few words on myself as a software developer and on what next: i am a senior software developer, and i have a significant past in computer music: in the 90s i worked ten years in Ircam, working with Eric LIndeman on the ISPW, and with Miller Puckette (the guy behind PD) and (a bit) David Ziccarelli, and other great guys on the family of MAX languages.

I was in the jMax team, and i am the guy that resurrected it as jMax Phonenix (an open source project) in the 2000s. My day job was in serious (boring) corporate/enterprise development. In 2012 i even tryied to get my slice of the iOS music business with two applications MidiBud and MidiBlob (i can talk about them now because they are both dead since a number of years). I stopped my private software development

actvity (commercial or open source) when i realised that i got more views of my music on Youtube that downloads of the software :-). But as a software developper i am still bored, so i decided to get some fun with simple scripts development for Logic Pro and MainStage.