Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

any drummers over here?

been dabbling with playing drums on and off my entire life, but never put any effort into it and still a complete noob.

just checking in to see if we have any keyboard players that also play drums.

how did you get on with it, easy to pick up the basics?

Thought it might be fun to play and record my own drum backing tracks, instead of hunting around for something suitable on yt or biab...

is it beneficial for playing keyboard do you think, to have some drumming skills?

what's the most stripped-down drumkit you can get away with to get started with?

many ideas circulating in my head, thanks for any input!

hang out with me at woody piano shack

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't consider myself a drummer per se, but I'm a pretty good drum programmer. I can think like a drummer, I know the moves, but I may or may not have the technique to execute things the way I'd like.... So, between my Trapkat and my mad editing skills on my DAW (and of course, Superior Drummer 3), I can make pretty believable drum parts. Beyond that, Superior Drummer's MIDI library of grooves, fills, sections & whatnots make it pretty darned easy.

Custom Music, Audio Post Production, Location Audio

www.gmma.biz

https://www.facebook.com/gmmamusic/

I feel a Woody's Drum Den coming on :D

'Drum Shack, Woody Drum Shack' and get the B-52"s to do the theme. I got me a Ludwig that"s as big as a whale.

On topic, I thought I was a competent drummer but my brother, who is a dummer, says I play drums like a keyboard player. I don"t even know what that means! But I know he bangs away on a piano like a drummer.

Here for the gear.

Drummer here. Been playing for 25 years or so, teaching for around 9.