Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Dumbec

KuruPrionz

Over the years I've bought and sold a variety of drums and percussion and mostly, sold them again.

Recently I've acquired first a Remo dumbec which seems to be of unified plastic construction. It sounds really good. It's fun to play. Full disclosure, I am not trained in the magic of the great Dumbeki and their wonderful music.

I'm primarily a guitarist but I do play finger style - dumbed has a huge range of tones if you don't beat it.

I love how covering the bottom opening with your hand shifts the pitch lower and putting your fisted arm up inside makes it go lower still - up to a point. Then is shifts to a much higher pitch that is more difficult to persuade.

I didn't really explore it properly but that seems to be the sweet spot - quickly shifting from low to high.

Thoughts? I welcome all feedback this is a super fun thing for me.

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

And, last week I found a fancy ceramic dumbec at the thrift store for $7. It appears to be a genuine Middle Eastern dumbec. There was a small tear in the skin, which is tied onto the drum.

I don't know how to replace a head like that properly so I put a piece of Gorilla tape on it and it sounds good. Sacrilege, I know. If I still lived in Fresno I could probably find somebody to fix it. This will get me by for now.

The two dumbecs are pitched differently, it will be fun to get to know how they fit on recordings.

I cannot find anything about a dumbec. Are you talking about the Darbuka?

Edit: Okay. Dumbec is the Western name for the Darbuka. I have thought about getting either a Darbuka or a Tabla. The Tabla may be the most complicated percussion instrument I have seen.

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page