Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Which 61-key MIDI controller

i'm a piano player, have a Kawai CA58 and a MP11SE.

Recently, I've found myself wanting something 'fun' to make music on the side (I'll probably be fooling around a lot more than actually making music, though).

I have turned my attention to a MIDI controller I can use on my desktop, for use with my iMac. Have already tried different DAW's in trial mode and have narrowed it down to Ableton Live and Logic Pro X (downloaded 90-day trials of both, adn already fooled around a bit in Garageband).

As for MIDI controllers, keybed feel and quality is requirement number 1 so I'm not looking at low-end options.

Been comparing the Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2, the Arturia Keylab 61 MK2 and the Novation SL 61 MK3.

Not really interested in optimised workflows or anything like that, I'm no professional, it's for home 'studio' use...

The one that catches my eye the most is the Novation, although I fear that a lot of functionality might be lost on me (controlling hardware synths is not my thing, nor do I know the first thing about it).

And even though, I own a Mac, I'm not immediately convinced that Logic is the best choice. Been comparing it with Ableton Live and to tell you the truth, Live seems like 'more fun' than Logic.

So, some pointers ? For and against the Novation ? Will I be okay with it (I'm willing to learn) or will I be taking on more than I can chew? On the other hand, the SL MK3 is said to be very user friendly, even for a novice...

There are no huge sound libraries that come with it, like is the case with Arturia and Native Instruments, but I think choosing a controller because of free goodies is not really a smart thing to do...