Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard Action on Roland Fantom7

Sorry haven't been in the keyboard world for a few years now but was considering a Roland Fantom7.

My only question about this particular synth is the keyboard action. Some say it's one of the best synth actions now on the market.

Since I can't get to any music stores that have one to try, I am hoping some owners of said board could shed some light on their experience.

I remember the actions on most of my Korg synths (M1, M3, T3, Triton Studio, Triton EX7) being quite nice to play and not flimsy like a lot of the lesser priced boards available today.

I would be looking for similar action on the Fantom7, I do realize that this is a person preference question, but still like to get some thoughts on the matter.

Thanks

Paul

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I have no experience with it but based on the price range it's supposed to be one of the nicer ones.

Life is subtractive.
Genres: Jazz, funk, pop, Christian worship, BebHop
Wishlist: 80s-ish (synth)pop, symph pop, prog rock, fusion, musical theatre
Gear: NS2 + JUNO-G. KingKORG. SP6 at church.

I had a Fantom 7 for a month. The action is VERY nice. The best I've played. Roland created this new keybed for the Fantom 6 & 7 and for the Jupiter X. You will love it. Previously I owned a Korg M3-73 and thought that action was very nice as well. The new Roland keybed is even a little better than the M3

Kurzweil Forte 7, Mojo 61, Yamaha P-125,

Kronos X61, Nautilus 73

However, the aftertouch is awful on the new Fantoms and the Jupiter X. It's not very responsive at all. It works but it's either 100% or 0% with very little in between attainable/useful. But the keybed is SWEET

Kurzweil Forte 7, Mojo 61, Yamaha P-125,

Kronos X61, Nautilus 73