Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I have to upgrade Sibelius - go standalone or subscription?

I've been using Sibelius 6 for about 11 years. It's survived all of the OS upgrades up until...Catalina.

Now that I'm on this new MBP, Sib 6 Edu is in the no-fly zone.

Okay, after 11 years, I don't mind upgrading. But I see that now there are two options for qualified educators - standalone for $299 or subscription for $99 a year...until they raise the price eventually.

What are you guys doing for notation software these days? Has anyone had to upgrade recently and make this choice? I tend to keep things for a long time (11 years on Sib 6) if they're working. So it suggests coughing up the $300 for standalone is the wiser choice.

But curious if I'm missing something.

Tim

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I like MuseScore, but I understand your investment of time and skills in Sibelius. However, you can try MuseScore and it's always free to use and see if it works for you. (In fact, last time I looked, most notation apps have free versions and trials to decide before you buy.)

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

Hey, Tim.