Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Live sampler options?

Excuse my very very limited knowledge of this subject but wanted to ask about samplers, at least I think that is what is what I am looking for? Basically in a live setup what can I use to program and trigger certain parts of cover songs that maybe I don"t have the sounds for in my keyboard. I was thinking something somewhat small the could sit on or near my keyboard. I use a Yamaha s90es and viscount solo for the majority of sounds. Run everything into a mixer and out to the mains. If I am missing something please ask and I will clarify as best as possible. Thanks gang

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no expert, but I occasionally use samples in my cover band work - typically flourishes or complex sound FX that help dress a cover song up. My keyboards have sample upload capability, but it appears your current rig doesn't have that.

One of the less-expensive standalone hardware options I've seen available for sale is the Akai Professional MPX8 sample pad controller. I've never used one, but it looks interesting - 8 pads to play sounds back, ability to load samples via SD card. Online user reviews seem to suggest the software to load samples is easy to use.

Here's a product page from a reputable online retailer that many of us buy from a lot. Check out the videos detailing some of the features and see if that might serve your needs, price is under $100.

As brotha Tim mentioned, the Akai MPX8 and MPX16 will cover those bases.

IMO, the Akai MPC One is probably more user friendly and it has a sequencer too.:cool:

PD

"The greatest thing you'll ever learn, is just to love and be loved in return."--E. Ahbez "Nature Boy"