Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Players...or Composers?

I was tempted to take a different thread into yet another direction, but thought this might deserve its own thread.

I'm a decent real-time player, but only on guitar and blues harp. On keyboards, I'm acceptable. For everything else, I'm a composer. I can decide what needs to be played, but I can't play it fluidly. I'll never be a brass section :)

It seems to me that DAWs empowered composers, whereas tape (due to the lack of editing) empowered players. Of course, not all composers are going to be fabulous. But people with musical ideas have a chance to implement those ideas to a degree that was never before possible.

Beethoven and Bach were players, but they were also composers, who needed other musicians to implement their ideas.

Are we entering an era where composers are more important than players?

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

For a while I did think that slick, tightly produced music was dominant - obviously favoring composers.

Then I realized there's whis whole young generation of musos who built up a following by showing off their playing skills on Instagram - which would seem to indicate players are favored.

Plini, who himself looks like a young man to me, mentions even younger players who do the Instagram thing to promote their ability to play stuff fast, without attention to expression. But what's more interesting to me is that he developed his musicianship by composing first, then learning to play his own compositions, which is actually on the "composer" side of the fence

[video:youtube]