Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Has anyone made a fretboard that looks like this?

hard truth

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been a guitar tech for almost 50 years and that's the first time I've seen this concept.

Bear in mind that there are 5 places on a 20 fret neck where you can play Middle C.

Guitars are truly not like keyboards in more ways than one.

To play a major scale on the keyboard and play it in all keys, you must learn many different fingerings.

To play a major scale on a fretboard, you can learn one fingering and simply move it up and down the fretboard, the fingering will not change unless you change strings and sometimes not even then, depending.

So in some ways, learning the guitar is much simpler than learning the piano. On the other hand, reading music on the guitar is much more complex than it is on piano, partly because most notes have more than one location (but not all of them) and there are things that can be done on a guitar that cannot be done on a piano, stretching strings, tapping, slide guitar etc.

Anything anybody wants to try is fine with me. I know my fretboard, all of it. And I know plenty of patterns/variations/chord shapes all over the neck. Singer wants to change keys? On it, right here and now. Transposing is not a problem is you think in terms of shapes rather than linearly.

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.