Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help for a Traveling Keyboardist

For local gigs, my main keyboard is a Korg Kronos that is excellent in providing me with basic sounds I use (piano, organ, synth, strings, horns). However, it is heavy and is difficult to travel with. Someone suggested I look into a midi setup that uses a software on a laptop that provides a midi controller that would give me access to various instrument sounds on the fly as required during a live performance. I guess another way of describing it is, I"m looking to a workstation brain on a laptop that I can play on a Midi controller live (just as I do on my Kronos. I'm new to Midi technology, so I find my head spinning trying to sift thru all the programs and device available. In most cases, the gear seems far more oriented to recording songs and their playback (live or otherwise) than what I'm looking for. I don't pre-record any sounds. Any advice anyone can offer would be very appreciated. I would need access to about 40 sounds/voices. Thanks again, Perry

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

There are many lightweight midi controllers, they tend to be fairly inexpensive compared to workstations - how much of a quality keyboard action is relational to weight of the keyboard. Do you need weighted keys? Will un-weighted or semi/light weighted suffice? Nektar makes several 61k controllers that are feature-full and portable.

For ease of setup and use, with most every type of sound you"d need in one shot I would suggest a MacBook or MacBook Pro with large SSD hard drive and Apple"s Main Stage software. Done.

If you prefer Windows, a similarly spec"d laptop with Cantabile software and picking and choosing your favorite VST instruments is also viable.

Yamaha CP88, Casio PX-560

Hi, Perry -

Quick question: