Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Looking at a Hammond A100 today

My Hammond tech alerted me to a great deal on an A100, and I'm going to check it out. He's played it and it runs and allegedly sounds great. Anything in particular I should pay attention to? It is currently only wired for the internal speakers, but we will add a Leslie hookup.

The 1939 BC that we've been working on just keeps finding new ways to fail, so I'm really thinking that I'm not technically the guy for an organ of this vintage, I am learning a lot, but would rather have a playable instrument than another project. Plus, this is for a studio instrument, the A100, since it already has percussion, smooth drawbars, etc, is an instrument that other players would find more accessible.

Turn up the speaker

Hop, flop, squawk

It's a keeper

-Captain Beefheart, Ice Cream for Crow

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I love my A100 to bits.

as do I. Do it, Dave. Then we can start an "A100 Dave Club". :thu:

Yeah, that's all the reason I need! :-)

Actually pretty excited about this, I've never owned a working full-size console before.

Turn up the speaker

Hop, flop, squawk

It's a keeper

Serial #? Make sure you aren't inheriting a problem. Make sure the bussbards aren't gone. Check the action to see if the keys are tight or loose and clack together.

"Danny, ci manchi a tutti. La E-Street Band non e' la stessa senza di te. Riposa in pace, fratello"

noblevibes.com

While I doubt it has foam cancer (your tech would know in an instant), play every key on each manual, listening for missing tones. Best way to do this is one drawbar at a time.

www.dazzjazz.com

PhD in Jazz Organ Improvisation.

BMus (Hons) Jazz Piano.

my YouTube is Jazz Organ Bites

1961 A100.Leslie 45 & 122. MAG P-2 Organ. Kawai K300J. Yamaha CP4. Moog Matriarch. KIWI-8P.