Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Taking the emotion out of buying a new piano

Since I got back to playing classical music this year's round of lessons I'm at a cross roads. I have an old upright that has been with me since my mom passed in 2019. I had it moved twice and is now in my new house. It's been pretty apparent I can't practice Sonatina's on a CP88 which I have been doing. It messes me up when I go to the music school and have to perform in front of my teacher on a Steinway. It just doesn't work. I could practice on the 100 year old upright but at this point I kind of need a grand piano to get to the next level. I have some money to spend but the old upright is kind of bound to me because I learned to play on it. It was a neighbors that gave it to my mother in the early 70s when the moved and I just started playing on it. It needs a lot of work besides tuning. The pins are loose, the hammers are bad and the only thing I can do is tune it. It just doesn't respond like I need it to. Previously I was practicing everyday on a grand piano in the nursing school lounge which was next to where I was working. I got laid off so it's not an option to practice at the university anymore.