Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How important is after touch?

Eric, does your Poly D send a smooth aftertouch message through MIDI? If so, you could use aftertouch to smoothly bring in a sine wave from another keyboard or module. 8-10 Hz sine/tri wave will give you a violin-like vibrato when patched into the Pitch CV. I've been gigging a Moog with this modular-style trick for several years. No issues.

Alternatively, you could send the aftertouch MIDI signal from your PolyD into MainStage and use MIDI FX: MODIFIER to convert aftertouch it into CC1: Modwheel. Then send it back to your Poly D. There might be a bit more lag with this approach.

Hope this helps. Please keep us posted.

I've thought about this, but with some differences. Not only does it send AT via MIDI but by CV! It's designed to be routed back through to another source. I've even tried it with global pitch, and it works, but it's not LFO-modulated pitch. I was wondering if someone makes a very tiny LFO module, just a triangle wave with a rate control, with a CV input to modulate the amplitude, and and output. That would be the holy grail. I can see myself building up a small pedal board soon (I already have delay and chorus pedals). I'd rather not use MIDI, as that would probably require routing through another full board, and I'd rather just keep it simple. Heck, if I could find something small enough to tuck under the lid, that would be amazing! I'd even consider modding the unit and build it inside, though power is obviously an issue. The PolyD is 12V, where most modules/pedals are 9V, otherwise I could just use an octopus-style wall-wart splitter and power both (like I do with my pedals).

I'm not a eurorack guy, but this strikes me as a euro-type question. Anyone know of any extremely simple and small LFO modules out there that would work like I described?

Puck Funk! :)