Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Slick Basses

So Earl Slick (ex-David Bowie among others) created a line of guitars that are really amazing for the price. Actually, they are pretty amazing, period. Brass hardware, slightly relic'ed, feels and sounds worn in. In video reviews, YouTube influencers only mildly complain about the plastic nut, although all agree that it's not an issue.

They have basses as well. Has anyone played one? I may buy one just to see.

https://www.guitarfetish.com/Slick-Bass-Guitars-_c_608.html

"For instance" is not proof.

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Looks for all the world like a bunch of P-Basses.

Nothing wrong with that, both of my basses are more or less also P-Basses.

If those are your thing, here's a tip - something I've done for a few customers (I'm a guitar tech).

Start with a Squier because they are fully compatible with Fender dimensions and you can often find used ones in great condition for under $100.

As time and money allow, replace the neck with a premium aftermarket brand like Warmoth or USAG.

Over time, replace the electronics, the hardware, and eventually the body. Pay as you go, buy each piece individually and focus on getting exactly what you want.

When you've replaced everything, you can put the Squier back together and either keep it for a backup or sell it.

It is a great way to get what you want without using credit, waiting until you have enough money or doing without.

Not sure if there is a way to find out if the Slick brand is adhering to exact Fender dimensions but if they are then you could do it that way too.

On the other hand, if it plays great as-is, the pickups are certainly standard P-Bass sized so maybe just replacing the electronics is all you would want.

Nobody should ever gig with an import instrument without at least replacing the cheap crappy output jack with a Switchcraft.