Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Moat famous songs with DX7 e-piano

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Really. Really? :D Might be easier to ask which ones didn't.

Most famous n popular: um... (I really disliked that sound and thus a lot of the music featuring it....so much so I started playing bass)....

Anything by Chicago in that era maybe?

Wind beneath my wings?

Miami Vice?

billy Ocean?

Luther Vandross.

I'm sure some toto is in there.

I th ink I have a serious mental block about that sound.

I know it's not famous, but Goodness n Mercy, Santana.

Hitting "Play" does NOT constitute live performance. -Me.

Hard to say what is a specifically DX7. More often than not famous tracks probably used TX816s ... but in a very generic sense Tony nailed it.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!

So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Just off the top of my head.

'Next time I fall in love' Peter Cetera and Amy Grant

'Best for Last' Vanessa Williams

'Hard habit to break' Chicago

'Saving all my love for you' Whitney Houston

'One more night' Phil Collins

'The finer things' Steve Winwood

'Sweetest Taboo' Sade

If you are my age, this should trigger a slew of additional songs.

"For instance" is not proof.

Seinfeld was done on a Korg M1.

The keyboard he's playing in the video is a Kurzweil. (Though it's not impossible that he could be triggering something else, he couldn't have done the mouth-drum samples on an M1.)

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our now not-so-new new video at https://youtu.be/3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out! And hopefully I'll have something new here this year. ;-)

If you want to be international. Never too fun to have an English-centric list.