Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

acoustic guitar quality guide

I'm a luthier in Portland and I thought I'd throw done some of my knowledge about acoustic guitars to create a guide to checking one in a shop.

When deciding if I've finished an acoustic guitar I'll go over it a look for around 15 things related to musicality, playability and quality. I thought I'd turn that checklist into a guide that others can use to evaluate instruments. I aimed this as a guide to explain to someone looking to buy a guitar what to look for. There's a lot of text, too much for this post. So here is the list below and you can check out more here: acoustic guitar buying guide

The list that I go through is:

Top quality , back and sides quality, tuning ease, bridge pin ease, fretboard buzz, fretboard dead spots, neck shape preference, action preference, measuring stiffness of the top and back, mass consideration, evenness of finish, craftsmanship details, intonation quality, pickup quality.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome Portland Guitar!!!!

I've built a few guitars, mostly electric and a couple of acoustics. It's been a long time. Meanwhile, I've repaired, customized, bought and sold LOTS of guitars of all types over the decades.