Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Casiotone S300 as really cheap travel keyboard?

Yeah, concerning synth/waterfall actions, the S300 is fine. I cannot imagine that the Mk3 is objectively better. This âhalfâweighted' typically doesn't mean much. It may even mean that the springs are too stiff for comfortable playing. That was my major issue with the Alesis QS6. In theory the action was of a very high quality. In practice it was too stiff for playing the black keys near the pivot point.
2019 W.Hoffmann T122 upright, Roland FP-50, Roland RD64, Korg Microkorg

• 1 month later...

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2 weeks later...
Just ordered an S300 and a bunch of double AAs. I'm going to give it a go coaching and rehearsing with some singers outdoors. I'll let you know what I think when it shows up!

Have your received your CT-S300? And what are your impressions? Thanks for your feedback.

Casio PX-S1000, Pianoteq 8 Std

Elmer, I hope you like yours better than I did. I've had a number of cheapie boards over the years, and have grown to really dislike the casio and yamaha sounds from these boards. The CTS300 is of the same ilk, bad sound memories for me, and amoung the worst built-in speakers i've heard. Sweet form factor though.

Mike Martin chimed in when I said this in another post, that I'd like the CT-X700, only $30 more. He was very correct. The sound quality is from decent to surprisingly decent, and the speakers, also only 5 watts total, are surprisingly good. Night and day difference.

So... CTS300 vs CTX700

- Weight: 7.3 vs 9.5 pounds. I'd call this pretty close for portability and weight on your legs for couch/bed playing. Every other board I've looked at, other than the Go Piano-61 / Keys, get half again as heavy