Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

To fix or not to fix, that is the question

picker

I recently got a fabulous deal on a Silvertone amp-in-case guitar, the one with two pickups(I don't recall the number, 1458 or something). My plan is to play the guitar, mostly for slide, cause they sound so cool for that.

The problem is, the bridge is in the wrong place on the body, and the strings slant towards bass side of the neck. They don't quite fall off the neck, but they don't miss it by much. It looks like the body would have to be filled and redrilled to get it in the right place.

Can anybody tell me if I'd be shooting myself in the bank account by making the guitar

Always remember that you are unique. Just like everyone else.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Can you post photos? I've been a guitar tech for decades but I need to see the guitar to make recommendations.

That is a Danelectro guitar by the description, Sears ordered them with Silvertone logos. They DO sound great, I've had one of those same guitars and still have a couple of Silvertone Danos.

The lipstick pickup is one of the best sounding vintage pickups and usually they can be set up to play very well.

Six on a side headstock and red glitterburst with thick masonite pickguard?

Photo of my personal favorite posted. Different model, dolphin nose U1. Did not come with the amp in case, that is a cool rig!

1389.thumb.jpg.e7550b0fdec0704a299aacd7fcf57482.jpg

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.

How about using a "slide guitar extension nut" for $5 bucks from Stewmac. Keeps the guitar stock and you should be able to move the strings over a little...I can't figure out how the bridge got moved in the first place? :cool:

We can't assume it is stock until we see photos. When Danelectro went ouf of business they had an auction and sold everything.