Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Everyday I write the book...

I was ranting in another thread about the intangible nature of band dynamic. This song is flawless from a songwriting perspective (Dylan called it one of his favourite tunes) but the brilliant interplay of the individual members speaks to a band truly being the sum of it"s parts. Love this tune. A masterclass by Steve Nieve on how to come up with perfect hooks while Bruce Thomas plays counter melody throughout!

[video:youtube]

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Mike it's a wicked tune. He started it as a Reggae tune originally. I was a freshman in HS I think when this came out. Interesting to note the background singers have their own history. Both of them were from the English Reggae scene. Claudia Fontaine and Caron Wheeler were the back up singers but one went to be in Soul to Soul. I was bouncing in a club in 1989 and that group was hot. Caron is gorgeous and has a hell of a voice. Unfortunately Claudia passed in 2018. Here is a clip of Caron from 2014:

[video:youtube]

"Danny, ci manchi a tutti. La E-Street Band non e' la stessa senza di te. Riposa in pace, fratello"

noblevibes.com

Totally. This has always been one of my favorite arrangements. To quote Spinal Tap: "simple lines . . . intertwining . . . "

I would have thought that from Spinal Tap, it would have been "parallel lines ... intertwining" :facepalm:

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

-Mark Twain

Thanks for posting. I had kind of lost that song in my subconscious, and that replay helped me listen with a new perspective. The Attractions were/are a great example of talented musicians with "personality" in their playing.

I'm not particularly fond of Costello's vocal style, but I know many disagree, and that's cool.

Cheers, Mike.