Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Do you have any self imposed purchasing rules.

Other than budget or spouse that is. I've been buying instruments for over 40 years and cringe to think of the stuff I have bought and traded away. Saturday I ordered an Ibanez TMB35, a short scale 5 string that is only $250. Yesterday I canceled the order after finding out how hard it is to get decent strings for a short scale 5 string. Thinking back, that was a good thing. I've decided to self impose two rules for purchasing musical instruments.

1. For every item that comes in, two have to go out. If I want a new guitar: bass, electric or acoustic, I have to either sell or give away two. I have too much stuff. I don't need more items, I need more quality.

2. Any item I buy has to be at least as good as my best item of that type. I already have an Ibanez SR1405. Why make such a huge step down in quality? Yes the TMB35 is short scale, but could I really be happy with a $250 bass after playing $1400+ instruments? Just another item to stick in the closet.

There will be exceptions, like guitar pedals. Seriously, you cannot have too many guitar pedals. And they are small. Maybe a limit on how many duplicates. But, you have to keep it real.

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

The only self-imposed purchasing rule I ever had was when I was spending most of my time touring, and stuff would get stolen. The rule was that any stolen item had to be replaced with something better.

Nowadays, the main constraint is deciding whether I want something, or need something. If it's need, out comes the credit card. If it's want, I think long and hard about it, and usually pass.