Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

First piano VST - Ravenscroft 275

Wow! My primary piano sound for a few years now has come from a Roland Integra (or the PX5S, which is my gigging board that"s been standing in as a studio board for too long at this point).

It"s fine, but for a lot of stuff I"ve been doing, it"s just been more convenient to midi into the computer and keep it all in the DAW without sending midi back out to the Integra. So I"ve been using Logic"s stock pianos a lot in the last month or so.

I"ve got a big project coming up (basically, recording a musical for streaming, along with tracks to facilitate remote rehearsing and filming), and thought I"d treat myself.

Wow! I had no idea how much I disliked my current sound until I started playing with the Ravenscroft. It"s just so 'alive' sounding, with clear and real-feeling tone all across the instrument. I quick dialed in one or two sounds that I like, and spent a bunch of hours this morning just playing.

I know I"ve read countless conversations here and other places about whether or not people like this piano, Pianoteq, and a bunch of others. I"m sure they all have their differences, but from what I was coming from, the Ravenscroft feels like a holy grail of piano sound.

I expect I"ll fire up the laptop to run this even if I"m just practicing, which is not something I usually would want to do: 'as few power switches as possible between me and playing' is my typical motto.

For $140, I"m kicking myself for not taking the plunge sooner.

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic