Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need advice for how to stack 2 boards in home setup

I currently have a Kronos 88 on the lower tier and Yamaha 61 on the upper tier of my Ultimate keyboard stand. My issue is that the upper board is at the same angle as the lower board. I prefer to play sitting down. Ideally, it would be nice if the upper board could be at a steeper angle towards me as I find I have to stand up to see the screens and controls. This is basically a "permanent" setup, so I'm even wondering if I should get rid of the stand and look into a furniture/wooden solution to achieve my goals. Problem is I'm not good with a hammer and nails and don't really want to spend many thousands of dollars on a custom built setup. Any advice?

_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/

Kronos 88, Korg CX-3, Motion Sound KBR-3D

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

If you're thinking of getting rid of your stand anyway, there are plenty of 2 tier stands with a top tier that has angle adjustments.

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our now not-so-new new video at https://youtu.be/3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out! And hopefully I'll have something new here this year. ;-)

This might help you...

I had added a 3rd tier to my Apex AX-48 stand in order to add a Yamaha MX61 to my rig (above a Mojo 61, and with a Roland FP-30 down below), and I had the same issue for quite awhile. Yeah, it's a pain...

I just solved it for less than $5 by wrapping a 3" x 2.5" x 20" piece of packing styrofoam (from one of the keyboards, if I recall) with black duck tape *, and that's placed towards the back of the top arms (and lightly secured with duck tape) to elevate the MX board.