Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Classic sounds with modern faces...

Hey all,

I started recording audio in 1999 and that was only in a DAW environment (I started playing synths and learned MIDI sequencing around 1989). I never had exposure to traditional outboard signal processing, especially classic signal processors. To put it in perspective, I didn't know what an 1176 or Pultec was until UAD started emulating them. Now when I look at studio pictures I see walls of them.

Some of the visual recreations of classic outboard gear are impressive in their design details and aesthetics, but I'm not sure that the 'realistic' interfaces provide the best benefit and workflow for someone who didn't grow up with them. For example: A Pultec EQ doesn't have units on some of it's controls (boost and attenuation for example) . A modern interface could easily overcome that, while still providing the classic tone. A modern interface could also offer a spectrum analyzer (think Fabfilter Q3) to give some visual indication of what is happening with the incoming signal.

Another example: The LA2A needle meter might have worked great in 1962. It can still work now, but if you gave me a choice between the needle or some comprehensive digital meters for input/gain reduction/output (with peaks and other visual aids), I'd choose the latter every time.

I know many of these products cater to professionals who did grow up on the gear, but that's probably less than 5% of the market. The other 95% are guys like me who are learning gear for the first time and may never see a real Pultec, Fairchild, etc. I think it would be awesome if some of the big names (e.g. Waves, UA, PSP, etc.) offered classic skins as well as modern GUIs with more comprehensive controls. The audio engine can remain the same, but having better visual control is always a plus.