Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

SSL SiX - OMFG

Okay, to all my keyboard brethren, I'm sincerely sorry for this in advance.

So, I just got a new mixer so I can do some recording on the big downstairs rig. I wanted two good preamps so I can really hear my ribbon mics...so I decided to spring for this new mini mixer from SSL:

0c24OVu.jpg

From the moment you take it out of the box, you know there's something different about it. The weight and build quality are crazy good. So, I wired it up, and started playing with the mics, listening to the piano and the Hammond. Very nice indeed. Gotta mess with mic placement before I can really start hearing what's going on there. Then, I started playing the Forte and Kronos, which are wired into the stereo line level inputs.

:waitwhat::noway:

Even my wife can hear the difference. I'm not just talking about the two mic channels - I mean the 3/4 and 5/6 line inputs! I thought I was happy with the M06...but I had no idea how much definition and frequency response I was missing. Seriously. I know this sounds a bit over the top...but - as I previously mentioned - even my wife, who typically could give two shits about audio, noticed right away and is really surprised. That just doesn't happen around here...and she was actually in the other room at the time!

This thing so completely changes the sound from my keyboards that I feel like a veil has been lifted off them - not just on the top end, but on the bottom end as well.

Again...I'm sorry. :hider:

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Years ago, I got to sit in "The Chair" at Maximus Studios in Fresno and listen to the playback from a pair of synced 2" 24 track Studer tape machines zipping along at 30ips.