Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Which audio interface should I buy ? (Live Use + Recording)

Hello guys,

I have to soon take a good sound interface, I currently have the Steinberg UR22 (mk1), and I highly suppose that's not very good, especially considering I'm a gigging musician.

I want to use a good audio interface for two things :

1- playing gigs with Gig Performer and plenty of vsts.

2- record some of my acoustic piano and maybe add effects on acoustic piano in live.

I find the UAD interface too expensive, I don't think I need that but I'm not sure.

Maybe the Apogee Element 46 ?

What do you think I should take ? I need 4 input (mic)

Nord Electro 6D / Prophet Rev2/ Digitakt / Minilogue / Keyscape -

New video :

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You can"t go wrong with MOTU.

The fact there's a Highway To Hell and only a Stairway To Heaven says a lot about anticipated traffic numbers

People only say "It's a free country" when they're doing something shitty-Demetri Martin

I have to soon take a good sound interface, I currently have the Steinberg UR22 (mk1), and I highly suppose that's not very good, especially considering I'm a gigging musician.

Why do you suppose a UR22 is not very good? Steinberg invented VST's in the first place, they wrote the specs for it. They are excellent interfaces with very low latency which is what you need for live playing. The only possible problem is maybe you need more inputs? If you do you can always use a small mixer and run that into the Steinberg.

Bob

Hammond SK1, Mojo 61, Kurzweil PC3, Korg Pa3x, Roland FA06, Band in a Box, Real Band, Studio One, too much stuff...

The UR series are built by Yamaha, and the preamps are only a notch or two (if that) below what they put in their live consoles. If you can hear the difference on stage, you're a better man than I.