Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: What's a decent router for home use?

I was thinking of a NETGEAR Nighthawk Cable Modem WiFi Router Combo but thought some of you guys with more knowledge might suggest something different? Someone suggested a ASR1001? I am new to this so bear with me. I have a netgear expander and it's not working as well as I though it would. The stock Spectrum router just doesn't seem good enough and we have patches in the house were the signal is very weak. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

"Danny, ci manchi a tutti. La E-Street Band non e' la stessa senza di te. Riposa in pace, fratello"

noblevibes.com

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Get a mesh router system. Life changing!!

Mine has three nodes (transmitters) but I only use two for my 2300 square foot two story home . I have full download speeds in the house and basement and strong signal on my 1/3 acre property.

You can get a nice system under $200.

Kurzweil Forte, Yamaha Motif ES7, Muse Receptor 2 Pro Max, Neo Ventilator

I also really like the mesh router I got. We were having issues with coverage in a two story house, with the cable modem upstairs in a bonus room. The one I have is an "Orbi" by Netgear, iirc it was on sale at Costco at the time I needed one. Mine has two units, I was worried that maybe I underestimated this, but everywhere in the house I get full wifi strength now. I've not had a single outage with it in a number of months, it just works.

Before this I had a plug-in extender and it was iffy at best. This is far superior.

@_Bif, which mesh system did you choose? I'm looking to improve my struggling wifi at home - I've got a PowerLine/HomePlug-based extender, but it's still not great...

Cheers, Mike