Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I stopped myself before it was too late...

Hey all,

Big sales are hard to pass up and Fathers Day is fast approaching. UAD has their summer sale going on and some of their flagship products are really cheap right now. I thought I might pick up their Distressor plugin along with the Lexicon 480L reverb.

But then I tried the demos, and that was enough of a pause for me to realize that neither purchase would help me close the mountain of unfinished projects I'm sitting on. I already own several UAD reverbs, some Waves reverbs, and of course the bundled Cubase reverbs, and other than some mix glue, I'm not even a big fan of reverb right now. I'm more inclined to use short, panned delays if I need to call attention to something.

As for the Distressor, I'm sure UA did a great job modeling it but I'm a home studio hobbyist keyboard player. I'm not mic'ing a drum kit or recording guitars right now. And frankly, I'm not even a big fan of that ultra-compressed drum sound anyway. I've got the UAD 1176, LA2A, and LA3A plugins (and the Waves counterparts), and none of my projects are in need of a Distressor.

So short story long, it's amazing how you can convince yourself you need something (just because everyone else uses it). I find that asking that critical follow-up question usually grounds me: Is this device going to help me finish projects?

Todd

Sundown

Working on: The Jupiter Bluff; Driven Away

Main axes: Kawai MP11 and Kurz PC361

DAW Platform: Cubase

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Good thoughts!

Lately my main consideration is consolidation, or something truly unique that will benefit me in multiple ways.

I have all the bread and butter plugins long since covered and then some. It is time to go through them all and start deleting redundant options.