Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Motion Sound KP700X - The New Amp

(Disclaimer: I am an endorsing artist for Motion Sound amps. Please take my comments with how ever much salt you feel comfortable with.)

A couple weeks ago, I got a call from Jeff at Motion Sound. "Want to test drive our new amp?"

"New amp?? Of course."

A few days later, this Goliath showed up at my door. This is the new Motion Sound KP700x. It has two 10" speakers, two 12" speakers and two tweeters. It is, essentially, a KP610 on top of two 12" speakers that act as the built in subs.

In the regular KP series, the KP610 and KP612 amps are 500 watts. Each of these amps have an extra 250 is reserved for a passive sub that you connect via a speak-on cable if you need even more bass. The KP700x uses this extra 250 for the two 12" speakers.

The short review...this is the best sounding and loudest keyboard amp I have ever heard. I have run organ, Rhodes and piano through it. They all sound fantastic and the full Motion Sound stereo separation is present as always. And there is SO MUCH BASS! I have not been able to test it on a gig because...well...there are no gigs. But I have no doubt that this thing will crush live.

Is it big and heavy? Yes. It is about 70 lbs. However, there is going to be an attachable dolly option and possibly a road case option. But every pound of this beast is present in the sound. Did I mention it was loud and clear?

To me, this answers the question as to whether powered PA speakers have made the keyboard amp obsolete. This may be heavy, but it is still quicker set up than two PA speakers and it has a smaller on-stage footprint. I would never go back to separate speakers because I already use a KP612.

Once I get the exact specs from Motion Sound, I will post them. I added the photo with my dog for scale.

I will try to answer any questions you have before I get the specs.

1075.thumb.jpg.fa5ce66d8c09d543fc069f9e24fda917.jpg