Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Looking for thoughts on value of my Tsunami guitar

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

First, I've been buying and selling guitars for 40+ years, have probably sold 4-500 in that time with more to go on the market soon.

Mind you, that's everything from $70 Squiers to a Gurian rosewood acoustic and a near mint 82 Gibson Les Paul Custom in white with gold hardware.

It's embarrassing to account for the guitars I flipped before the valuations became insane, I'll just say some very nice stuff has been and gone.

The difficult aspect of valuing the guitar you are asking about is also what is appealing about it. Handmade limited edition by a respected but non-iconic maker.

A friend with more money than sense wanted to buy guitars as an investment, I advised him on things that may be undervalued and have some room to go higher and other guitars with established value and desireability.

He went ahead and accumulated a number of "boutique" guitars instead. Small builders making excellent guitars the best way they know how.

When a suprise divorce reared it's ugly head he hired me to photograph his gear and started selling it on Reverb. He soon learned what I had been trying to tell him. Since these spendid instruments are not commonly known and popular in the same way as vintage Martin, Gibosn, Fender and Gretsch, it's not possible to get top dollar for them. He did what he had to do and made out pretty OK.

I'll just say that the value to YOU is the important factor. If you love playing it and want it for a personal guitar, it's worth more to you than a collectable that sits in the case and does not get played. That's a factor.

Asking price is a factor assuming you are consdering a purchase. Potential trade in may be a factor, many times I've used something I got on the cheap to get a deal (from my perspective only) in a purchase.