Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Joining the ranks of the unemployed

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Not knowing your circumstances, I'm wondering why the statement about moving out. Like I was going to suggest to J.Dan, adding insult to injury always ends up costing a lot more than you think. You're an engineer? You'll be back.

Here for the gear.

Not knowing your circumstances, I'm wondering why the statement about moving out.

Cost of living is high where I live. I was exploring cheaper places to live. Happened sooner than I expected.

Like I was going to suggest to J.Dan, adding insult to injury always ends up costing a lot more than you think. You're an engineer? You'll be back.

Yes I'm an engineer with very marketable skills. If they called to offer my job back I wouldn't turn it down. Not banking on it though.

I read an article a week or so ago that a lot of the jobs lost from the virus aren't ever coming back. As someone who telecommuted to work for a couple years I discovered working from home I got more done because none of the distraction of an office environment. On news the other night they said some employers are going to keep many people working from home instead of the office.

So I'd say between the hit the economy is going to take there will be downsizing. Employers see productivity increase from home worker which mean lowering operational costs for office space. Then from past experiences working during economic downturns employers are going to take advantage of unemployment to start lower salaries on new hire or letting higher paid go and hiring replacements at lower wages. So real bad for people in debt or families, but good for people looking to change career paths there will be opportunities to get in or maybe get that promotion if you work cheap.