Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Lessons Learned After 105 Podcast Episodes

Updated February 2024 :)

Although I've been podcasting for more than ten years, my current podcast is the first one related to gigging and keyboards, so I've found I've learned a lot over the first sixty episodes. So I thought these learnings might be useful for anyone considering starting their own podcast (I still hold out the hope that someone may start one :D ). Here are five of them (wow I've just made a listicle!! ) 

1. Securing guests

As you could imagine, approaching potential guests with an unsolicited message only has a certain hit rate. Of the great people who have agreed to take part, there's at least as many again I've approached who I've never heard back from. From experience that's actually a great hit-rate as some of those who I haven't heard back from are bucket list guests who are likely to never see the message as there are twenty PR people and personal management staff between me and them.

I've only had three or four PR people say 'no' and even that was from a viewpoint of not liking to do interviews at all. Some guests can take weeks or months to secure. I had one guest that always said they were keen, we'd arrange a time and then when I called I'd get their voicemail :D - all par for the course with this stuff. When I was doing freelance writing for a computer magazine (interviewing musicians on their use of music tech), I remember it taking a year to finally secure an interview with Cyndi Lauper. Even then, on the day I got in the car to drive two hours for the interview I wasn't 100% sure it would happen.