Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How did you get started playing keyboards in a band?

I know there is an old thread of this type. In fact, I think I started one about 10 years ago. But, there are new people here now with stories to tell, and old people like me who like to repeat themselves. So, let"s do it. How did you get started playing keyboards in a band?

Back in the very late 70"s I was a drummer in a garage band that was trying to break into the club scene. Problem is, living in southeast Kentucky there were no clubs in my rural county, or even in neighboring counties. The closest club was 60 miles. Not a lot of work for musicians, and even musicians were scarce. I had to travel to the next county to even buy drum sticks. One day, after traveling 30 miles to the nearest music store, I ran into my piano teacher"s daughter. We had known each other since kindergarten and went to high school together. She knew my talent level on piano and that I was a really good drummer. While at the store she introduced me to her husband who had a band, told me that his band is looking for a keyboardist, and told him that I was the keyboardist that he needed. I agreed to go see the band that night at a local private dance hall but had no intention of quitting my current band. In fact, I took my bass player and two guitarists with me. We walked in and watched the band. The band was good. The front man was entertaining. The guitarist was amazing. He would later go to Nashville and is still there making a good living. During the third song the bass player turned to me and said 'If you don"t quit us and join this band you are stupider than Hell.' I told them that I could not just quit the band so they kicked me out.