Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

The Waveform/Tracktion DAW Thread

Who else uses Waveform or Tracktion (earlier version of the same program)?

I'm guessing y'all may be a bit thin on the ground but that's OK. This has been my DAW of choice since version 3 and I still like it.

All that said, I am not a power user. I do know my way around and am interested in learning more cool stuffs. I'm happy to explore any questions if somebody wants answers, I'll probably learn something too. :- D

All that said, I am way more into recording and manipulating audio than MIDI. I'm primarily a guitarist, also play bass, write songs, sing etc. Influenced by rock, blues, country etc but also very open to creating total insanity of all kinds.

Over a year ago I started doing remixes on Metapop.com. I was using other people's samples and stems as a way of learning new techniques in Waveform. I explored stretching tracks, automation, parallel proessing, pitch shifting, EQ mangling (made a kick drum into a shaker once), over compressing, reversing tracks, all sorts of stuff that is bad and wrong. It was a LOT of fun, I intend to go back one of these days and try to win some free software. I find it very freeing to destroy other people's music, I have no emotional investment so I can just try whatever I feel like trying and see what happens.

Currently learning more about my new microphones and other ways of working with my inputs. I am also learning how to work creatively with a partner, something I've always enjoyed. We've got some nice stuff figured out just jamming so it's time to record that and finish it.

Here are a few of my favorite Metapop tracks, hope you enjoy!

https://metapop.com/opossum-apocalypse/tracks/cats-n-dogs-opossum-apocalypse-production/97388

https://metapop.com/opossum-apocalypse/tracks/acid-test-opossum-apocalypse-remix/92745

https://metapop.com/opossum-apocalypse/tracks/who-else-opossum-apocalypse/85360