Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Bluegrass with the ukulele gang

I may have posted before that I started learning the ukelele. At one point I took some group lessons, and once those ended I figured that was it. But I sent a message on the group's whatsapp and that spurred a get-together.

After a handful of those I decided we could do with one less uke, in favor of an electric upright. So I've been playing that ever since. Mostly, we'd get together once a month and run through some songs someone printed out.

Lately, some roles have been developing. Some of the ladies picked lead vocals, one of the members has started fingerpicking (and became damn proficient REAL quick) and the other gentleman has started playing more lead / melodies.

In other words... There's a group sound slowly emerging! I find myself remembering what lines I played in certain songs, as opposed to rooting and improvising my way through them every time. The picker has started suggesting (in her limited musical vocabulary kind of way) that we work out some fixed arrangements and really work on the songs.

There's no drums, so all this has a bit of a bluegrass vibe to it. I remember dreading the very first get together, but now I look forward to those monthly gatherings. At 39 I think I am the youngest (with one possible exception) but truthfully, it's more fun than my cover/originals band which is nearing its end.

Thing is, I really want to play uke in a band setting, too :) Guess I need to find a bunch of bassists, so I can join on the uke... :D

"I'm a work in progress." Micky Barnes

The Ross Brown Shirt World Tour

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

That sounds super fun!!!!

I'd be all-in for that too.

Currently I am uke-less. I was in a music store a few weeks ago and there was an 8 string acoustic electric tenor uke that I LOVED.

So, I ran away quickly to avoid racking up the credit card!